1. Hundreds of coffees, endless nights of debugging and coding, and countless feedback by our beta testers led to this new major release. SimTools 2.4 is probably the version with the most upgrades and improvements in a single release ever. Look at everything Dustin has included:
    SimTools 2.4 all features.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

FlyPT Mover Interface

Discussion in 'SimTools compatible interfaces' started by pmvcda, May 30, 2019.

  1. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    432
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    2,042Coins
    Ratings:
    +195 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    I don't understand why these values are off center either. I think it's related to engine torque because I don't think it happens with jets, but it doesn't make sense to have a sway value when you are sitting parked!
  2. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    643
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    4,750Coins
    Ratings:
    +740 / 11 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    So to load the files, it's missing the extension that should be *.FlyPTMover
    and you have to right click to show the menu and delette all before loading...
  3. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    643
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    4,750Coins
    Ratings:
    +740 / 11 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Maybe they are not what we thought...
  4. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    643
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    4,750Coins
    Ratings:
    +740 / 11 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    New build coming today. Give me 50 to 60 minutes.
    It corrects the load/save bug. (already corrected)
    It has the new rig. (not 100% sure its working OK)
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    432
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    2,042Coins
    Ratings:
    +195 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    @pmvcda

    Like this?
    socket.try(groundClient:send(string.format("%.4f %.4f %.4f %.4f %.4f %.4f %.4f %.4f %.4f %.4f %.4f %.4f %.4f %.4f %.4f %.4f %.4f", acceleration.x-50, acceleration.z, acceleration.y, speed.x, speed.z, speed.y, rotationSpeed.x, rotationSpeed.z, rotationSpeed.y, yaw, roll, pitch,

    I suspect the off center values are a bug, but it's only a guess. It is not present when engine is off, or in a jet.
  6. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    643
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    4,750Coins
    Ratings:
    +740 / 11 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Yes, try it.
    But take a look, there's at least two of those strings in the script, one for air and one for ground.
    You have to change both. (well, you don't have, but it gives you a mismatch between both sources)
  7. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    432
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    2,042Coins
    Ratings:
    +195 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Got it! I needed +5 instead of -50 but it's fixed! Thanks
  8. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    643
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    4,750Coins
    Ratings:
    +740 / 11 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Because it's in G's and Mover uses m/s^2.
    The conversion is made inside Mover.
  9. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    432
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    2,042Coins
    Ratings:
    +195 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    I figured it was something like that. Anyway, now the sway error went away on it's own. Maybe I'm just tired LOL, stayed up all night to work on this.
  10. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    432
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    2,042Coins
    Ratings:
    +195 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Oh, got an issue with the air/ground modes. The surge into pitch from on ground sticks when you are flying, so if you were accelerating hard when you take off the whole time you are flying you are pitched up LOL. Pretty sure same thing the other way around but can't say 100%.

    Not sure about sway into roll.

    Except for that glitch, the air/ground mode thing works extremely well.
  11. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    643
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    4,750Coins
    Ratings:
    +740 / 11 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    FlyPT Mover Version 1.3 Beta

    New/solved:
    - Corrected bug when saving/loading setup files.
    Extension was missing when saving and application was closing when removing modules before loading.
    - Edited some posts in first page to update some info (nothing special).
    - New rig type.
    I want to add more, but I wanted this one to be the first:

    p.jpg

    It's a kind of rig that can also benefit from the motion cuing.
    I know, there's no traction loss. But you can add it with a direct module to control that actuator as a workaround:

    tl.jpg

    And a video with the rig in action (not the real one, I don't have one...):


    Keyboard driving and my laptop at his knees... Sorry for video quality.

    Known problems/alerts:
    - There's no default setup for now.
    - Missing tool tips and help texts.
    - To much modules, and there's no scrollbar to access them in the main window.
    - No Limits 2 as some data problems that I need to solve. Seems the transforms are not correct.
    - Graphic viewer with some problems. Data is not always saved (selections), graphics could be more clear. Needs more work.
    - 3D viewer keeps rig even when you removed the rig, causing a crash if it's used.
    - Outputs to serial could report connection problems in a better way.
    - Memory cleanup needed.
    - Speed optimisation in early stages.
    - Bugs everywhere. Please report them.
    - Missing some announced features.
    - Missing license text. I'm lazy, hate those things o_O
    -Forgot centre of rotation in the controls... (all code in, but no interface)


    Download:
    In the first post of the thread
    • Like Like x 2
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2019
  12. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    643
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    4,750Coins
    Ratings:
    +740 / 11 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF

    Ah, ok. That's easy to solve.
    Just send zeros to the one that is not active.
    I will update the script.
    Something like:

    Code:
        if LoGetAircraftDrawArgumentValue(1)+LoGetAircraftDrawArgumentValue(4)+LoGetAircraftDrawArgumentValue(6)>0 then
            if groundClient then
                socket.try(groundClient:send(string.format("%.4f %.4f %.4f %.4f %.4f %.4f %.4f %.4f %.4f %.4f %.4f %.4f %.4f %.4f %.4f %.4f %.4f %.4f %.4f", acceleration.x, acceleration.z, acceleration.y, speed.x, speed.z, speed.y, rotationSpeed.y, rotationSpeed.x, rotationSpeed.z, yaw, roll, pitch, LoGetTrueAirSpeed(),LoGetAircraftDrawArgumentValue(1),LoGetAircraftDrawArgumentValue(2),LoGetAircraftDrawArgumentValue(4), LoGetAircraftDrawArgumentValue(6), LoGetAltitudeAboveGroundLevel(), LoGetModelTime())))
                socket.try(airClient:send("0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0"))
            end
        else
            if airClient then
                socket.try(airClient:send(string.format("%.4f %.4f %.4f %.4f %.4f %.4f %.4f %.4f %.4f %.4f %.4f %.4f %.4f %.4f %.4f %.4f %.4f %.4f %.4f", acceleration.x, acceleration.z, acceleration.y, speed.x, speed.z, speed.y, rotationSpeed.y, rotationSpeed.x, rotationSpeed.z, yaw, roll, pitch, LoGetTrueAirSpeed(),LoGetAircraftDrawArgumentValue(1),LoGetAircraftDrawArgumentValue(2),LoGetAircraftDrawArgumentValue(4), LoGetAircraftDrawArgumentValue(6), LoGetAltitudeAboveGroundLevel(), LoGetModelTime())))
                socket.try(groundClient:send("0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0"))
            end
        end
  13. Nisch

    Nisch Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2019
    Messages:
    43
    Occupation:
    Software Developer
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Balance:
    261Coins
    Ratings:
    +93 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Once I changed the Interval to 2 and the serial speed to 250000 and the Rig bit output to 16, I was able to connect and get some loop testing going.

    That feature alone helped a ton with tuning my servos.
    • Like Like x 2
    • Winner Winner x 1
  14. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    432
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    2,042Coins
    Ratings:
    +195 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    @pmvcda

    Excellent, looking forward to the fix with sending the zeroes.

    Did you fix the mixed up axes for DCS? Right now I'm super confused trying to tune and I know you said something about it.
  15. benmax

    benmax Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    Balance:
    458Coins
    Ratings:
    +26 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hi ,
    Ok tested in the 1.3 release and it’s ok .
    Mix pitch in surge OK
    Mix roll in sway KO , the rig doesn’t tilt correctly ( the opposite) .
    I checked in the Flypt hexpod interface and to get it working i had checked for mix roll in sway the checkbox flip. For the pitch in surge only the checkbox to activate the feature .
    In this new interface i didn’t find the flip checkbox .
    When sway goes from , for exemple , left to right ( right curve , you want that the seat push your body on the left ) , you have to tilt the rig on the left also to increase the pressure on your body left side.
  16. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    643
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    4,750Coins
    Ratings:
    +740 / 11 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Yes, there are some that might be swapped.
    I removed the flip to use less memory and have a simpler interface.
    To flip, use negative gain.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  17. Nisch

    Nisch Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2019
    Messages:
    43
    Occupation:
    Software Developer
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Balance:
    261Coins
    Ratings:
    +93 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    @pmvcda Regarding the Rotating Hexapod plugin for Simtools packaged with this:


    If I close out of Game Engine, I lose my crank angles and have to redo them every time I load into Simtools. It also appears I sometimes lose my rig dimensions in that plugin, but that has been sporadic.

    That's the only issue I've run across so far in 1.3

    upload_2019-6-29_13-20-36.png
    • Informative Informative x 1
  18. benmax

    benmax Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    Balance:
    458Coins
    Ratings:
    +26 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Ok thanks ! Tested and it works and OK now ;-)
    • Like Like x 2
  19. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    432
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    2,042Coins
    Ratings:
    +195 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    glad that worked @Nisch

    @pmvcda something probably better discussed in the other threads...

    First thing, I noticed that the zombie lurching servo movements only happen during washout. The slower the washout the worse it is. Trying to use I and/or D on the AMC1280 with filters running in FlyPT made the simulator try to tear itself apart! Apparently the software filters do not get along with being fed into a PID loop with anything but P.

    So this was a problem because I was forced to use really fast washout (too fast) to avoid the jerking bumpy washouts, but then I realized something. Everything we are using now is accelerations. I started running with no HP/washout at all and damn it works beautifully! Oh, and I tested using full travel without the shocks now that I've got your amazing software with it's filters and the shocks are now gone. =) Even better I was able to stick with the 190mm servo arm setting so my travel is limited entirely by concern of bits of the sim hitting each other! I'm flying around with 200mm heave! =O

    Lots more tuning to do, but wow I wish you could try it. =) Finally I'm satisfied with my sim after three years of frustration, and it's thanks to you three, especially you. I don't make much money but I'm going to send you a tip at least once a month. A shame you are on Euro's, most places the exchange rate would help but for me a $20USD bill is gold! Don't know if 17-18 Euros will at least buy you a nice dinner? I can eat (alone) at my favorite restaurants for that and have enough left for a 20% tip. =D Anyway, that's what I think I can afford to send.. I'll try to do it once a month and if I can find a way to collect life insurance on the ex-wife I'll cut you in. =D Oh.. hello FBI / law enforcement! This is purely a fantasy joke. I'm absolutely certain she actually was considering trying to pull off that trick on me... no joke there.. D=
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  20. hexpod

    hexpod http://heXpod.xyz

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    522
    Location:
    berlin
    Balance:
    3,411Coins
    Ratings:
    +167 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    I have a difficulty connectig the Mover with SimTools.

    Is the MMF name same as for FlyPT hexapod : "FlyPT_6DOF_Interface" ?
    • Agree Agree x 1