1. Hundreds of coffees, endless nights of debugging and coding, and countless feedback by our beta testers led to this new major release. SimTools 2.4 is probably the version with the most upgrades and improvements in a single release ever. Look at everything Dustin has included:
    SimTools 2.4 all features.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

FlyPT Mover Interface

Discussion in 'SimTools compatible interfaces' started by pmvcda, May 30, 2019.

  1. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    562
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    6,645Coins
    Ratings:
    +729 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi @pmvcda this def falls under the "Holy Shit Batman " Category .. this is already looking to be awesome , your gonna hear this from a lot of us mate, but this is unbelievable work, and already looking as though is will be very configurable, so should hit the sweet spot no matter what the mechanical 6DOF platform setup you have ....MASSIVE BIG THANKS for the work you put into this and more so for placing it here on this Great Forum .....Man I really do need to get my system running again . im drooling over the possibilities with this option .WOW
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
  2. baykah

    baykah Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Messages:
    133
    Location:
    Toulouse - France
    Balance:
    622Coins
    Ratings:
    +132 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    can't wait !
  3. SimMeInMD

    SimMeInMD Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2018
    Messages:
    41
    Location:
    Baltimore MD (USA)
    Balance:
    144Coins
    Ratings:
    +25 / 0 / -0
    @pmvcda, Ive been enjoying Iracing on your old interface for a month now! Just now getting used to it and you go and change it all around!? :p

    Just messing with you, awesome job and congrats on this new endeavor! Im excited to start figuring out how to implement this on my 6dof rig and hope I can pick up right where I left off!
  4. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    432
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    2,042Coins
    Ratings:
    +195 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    That looks AMAZING! I'm very much looking forward to testing it. =)

    Will I be able to set custom upper and lower servo arm limits outside the typical range? My upper limit is about 47° and lower limit is about 101°. This is a limitation of my build and can't be changed so I hope you can support it! <---Video clip you can see my (bad) geometry.
  5. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    649
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    4,809Coins
    Ratings:
    +744 / 11 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Not in initial releases. Sorry, but I want to make it work with custom rigs. I'm working on that. So... give me some time.
    • Like Like x 1
  6. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    649
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    4,809Coins
    Ratings:
    +744 / 11 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Current state:
    paypal-me-logo-6405E8A530-seeklogo.jpg
    Almost ready for first tests...

    Some strange names there.... made some replaces to rename some variables and changed labels also. So, I have some names to correct :mad:
    • Like Like x 1
  7. SimMeInMD

    SimMeInMD Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2018
    Messages:
    41
    Location:
    Baltimore MD (USA)
    Balance:
    144Coins
    Ratings:
    +25 / 0 / -0
    It just amazes me as to how you can do so much in such little time. I cannot begin to grasp what is possible and or how to use it within the interface. Theres just too much involved and not basic enough for me to understand :(..
  8. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    432
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    2,042Coins
    Ratings:
    +195 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    I can be patient. =)

    It looks like this will be the ultimate solution for the kind of tinkering I have been wanting to do!
  9. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    649
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    4,809Coins
    Ratings:
    +744 / 11 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    That's not so much. Could be way faster.
    Here the trick is to lay a good foundation that enables you to build everything over it.
    With that it's faster to build new features.
    That's the reason for FlyPT Mover compared to the previous one.
    The old foundation didn't allowed much more.

    This might look hard at first look. But I think it's not. The logic repeats in all windows/modules.
    What I'm afraid is that we loose what is open. I hope I was able to achieve something understandable.
    Some of those modules/windows, you use only once and will never touch again, unless there's some hardware changes.

    Just think like this:

    All modules receive information
    All modules treat that info
    All modules send out the treated info to another module

    Not all modules receive or send info to all other modules. Usually a kind of module sends data to another kind of module.
    The classification used right now is this:

    text10610.png

    So for example, in the image I posted in the last post, that's something just for testing, unless you want to control two rigs with different settings at the same time.
    You can do it, but 99.9% of us are not going to use that feature. That's a consequence of the new foundation. Imagination is the limit (well, almost).

    I will be around to help.

    EDIT: The diagram is basic. Some info lacking. I will make a better one and post in the start of the thread.
    • Informative Informative x 1
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2019
  10. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    649
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    4,809Coins
    Ratings:
    +744 / 11 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    I'm updating the first posts with updated images and new info.
    Will be available in the next hours, maximum tomorrow night. :)

    Please don't expect to much... It's a new world. (of confusion)
    I had to cut some features for release or I will never make the first release.
    • Like Like x 3
    • Winner Winner x 3
    • Optimistic Optimistic x 1
  11. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,470
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    18,654Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,143 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    :cheers looking forward to trying it out
    • Agree Agree x 1
  12. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    432
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    2,042Coins
    Ratings:
    +195 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Me too!
  13. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    649
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    4,809Coins
    Ratings:
    +744 / 11 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    FlyPT Mover version 1.0 Beta

    Here's the first build.
    Go to first post in this thread for download.

    Some things better than FlyPT Hexapod Interface, but you will notice that some are not working so good.

    Known problems/alerts:
    - There's no default setup for now.
    - Missing tool tips and help texts.
    - Some strange names due to some replacement strings (please report them, I missed many).
    - To much modules, and there's no scrollbar to access them in the main window.
    - No Limits 2 as some data problems that I need to solve. Seems the transforms are not correct.
    - Graphic viewer with some problems. Data is not always saved (selections), graphics could be more clear. Needs more work.
    - 3D viewer keeps rig even when you removed the rig, causing a crash if it's used.
    - Outputs to serial could report connection problems in a better way.
    - Memory cleanup needed.
    - Speed optimisation in early stages.
    - Bugs everywhere. Please report them.
    - Missing some announced features.
    - Missing license text. I'm lazy, hate those things o_O
    - Bug on rig scale. Solving it right now. New build soon.
    - Serial output seems to fail sometimes... I have to be near the rig to test it better.

    Edit:
    - SimTools connection not working. :confused: It's getting a new plugin.
    • Winner Winner x 4
    • Optimistic Optimistic x 2
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2019
  14. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    432
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    2,042Coins
    Ratings:
    +195 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    @FlyPT How difficult would it be to use a certain input value (load on aircraft suspension) to turn a pose on and off?

    So that when there is weight on the aircraft suspension (on ground) I can have a pose that allows high frequency heave/surge/sway but once I leave the ground that pose turns off.

    So in theory just have to be able to do something like the following:

    If suspension position > lowest position then pose 2 on
    If suspension position =/< lowest position then pose 2 off

    This is just a rough example, details likely incorrect but hopefully enough to give you my idea.

    Thanks FlyPT, this is great stuff. I'm reading through this thread 100% start to finish right now, halfway down first page.
  15. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    649
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    4,809Coins
    Ratings:
    +744 / 11 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    What is the difference between poses you want for DCS?
    I have more than one solution in mind.
    Explain me better and I will put it the the new build I'm working on.
    That's something I want to solve!
  16. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    649
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    4,809Coins
    Ratings:
    +744 / 11 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    OK, I have it solved.
    Give me some minutes, I'm preparing a new build with this included.

    And some bugs corrected...
    • Like Like x 2
  17. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    432
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    2,042Coins
    Ratings:
    +195 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Only when on ground:
    High Pass heave for runway bumps etc. (can probably achieve this using suspension pose but not the rest)
    High Pass surge for hitting brakes and sudden acceleration like aircraft carrier launch
    Surge/pitch tilt coordination with large values for accelerating down the runway (much bigger tilt than in-air)
    High Pass sway for steering while taxiing to the runway and takeoff/landing (higher frequency than in-air)
    Sway/roll tilt coordination with large values for steering on ground, making turns onto taxiways etc.

    All of the above for only on ground. Very undesirable cues in the air so they must turn off when not on the ground. =)

    The modular setup of Mover is amazing, so I think best solution would be to just have ground detection (DCS has no ground detection so we must use wheel suspension data to learn when the aircraft is on the ground) able to turn a pose on and off.

    If you wish to discuss with me on Discord voice just let me know when. I have a discord I can send invite, or I can join yours if you have one. I will PM you invite to mine.
  18. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    649
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    4,809Coins
    Ratings:
    +744 / 11 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    I now have two poses, one for ground, one for air ;)
    Just some minutes...
    • Like Like x 1
  19. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    432
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    2,042Coins
    Ratings:
    +195 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    =O I did not expect anything nearly so fast, you are amazing!

    Now I just need to get the needed suspension data out of DCS. I think I am going to attempt to learn how to edit the LUA, wish me luck, this is way over my head and time is very limited but I think I'll try. I have a BFF LUA with DCS ground detection I'll look at, Dirty's DCS LUA with rotational rates, and FlyPT LUA that talks directly to FlyPT Mover. I will try to learn enough to copy and paste some bits. =)

    Nevermind that, I see it's already been edited! I'll be testing in just a few minutes.
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2019
  20. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    649
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    4,809Coins
    Ratings:
    +744 / 11 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    FlyPT Mover Version 1.1 Beta

    New/solved:
    - New SimTools plugin, specific for FlyPT Mover (see this post for information).
    - Solved scale bug.
    - Corrected text errors. If you find any English error, please report.
    - New Lua file and extra source for DCS (see this post for information).

    Known problems/alerts:
    - There's no default setup for now.
    - Missing tool tips and help texts.
    - To much modules, and there's no scrollbar to access them in the main window.
    - No Limits 2 as some data problems that I need to solve. Seems the transforms are not correct.
    - Graphic viewer with some problems. Data is not always saved (selections), graphics could be more clear. Needs more work.
    - 3D viewer keeps rig even when you removed the rig, causing a crash if it's used.
    - Outputs to serial could report connection problems in a better way.
    - Memory cleanup needed.
    - Speed optimisation in early stages.
    - Bugs everywhere. Please report them.
    - Missing some announced features.
    - Missing license text. I'm lazy, hate those things o_O
    - Serial output seems to fail sometimes... I have to be near the rig to test it better.

    Download:
    In the first post of the thread
    • Winner Winner x 2
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2019