1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

FlyPT Mover Interface

Discussion in 'SimTools compatible interfaces' started by pmvcda, May 30, 2019.

  1. hexpod

    hexpod http://heXpod.xyz

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    673
    Location:
    berlin
    Balance:
    4,427Coins
    Ratings:
    +194 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    Oh I have already some flying experiences recorded !

    The address is 172.20.10.1. The port has to be 8080 ?
  2. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    833
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    6,395Coins
    Ratings:
    +886 / 11 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    You can change it in the source
  3. hexpod

    hexpod http://heXpod.xyz

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    673
    Location:
    berlin
    Balance:
    4,427Coins
    Ratings:
    +194 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    Sure but I can’t put 80.

    I have a connection to the browser but not to phyphox
  4. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    833
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    6,395Coins
    Ratings:
    +886 / 11 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    I see. I left a minimum value of 1024... idiot.
    It's corrected in next release. Just some more minutes.
    • Funny Funny x 1
  5. hexpod

    hexpod http://heXpod.xyz

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    673
    Location:
    berlin
    Balance:
    4,427Coins
    Ratings:
    +194 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    I am aware that phyphox is not able to playback the recorded tracks.

    I would be very interested if we could load exported tracks. You could create a dedicated experience as a standard and allow directly a cvs or excel format to be played back.

    That would be cooool
  6. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    833
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    6,395Coins
    Ratings:
    +886 / 11 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF

    I'm working on that. But I want it to be universal for all sources...
    Problem is the time tracking...
    Still needs lot's of work, but the idea is to record all variables received plus mover setup(optional) and replay them however you want.

    It's a source like a record player
    • Like Like x 1
  7. hexpod

    hexpod http://heXpod.xyz

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    673
    Location:
    berlin
    Balance:
    4,427Coins
    Ratings:
    +194 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    I could observe a steady 100 records per second in the exported file.
  8. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    833
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    6,395Coins
    Ratings:
    +886 / 11 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    FlyPT Mover 2.2

    Go to first post for download.

    Changes:

    -New feature in XPlane11 ground source
    -Corrections on Dirt Rally sources (directions and units corrected)
    -Corrections on RFactor2 source (directions corrected and suspension accelerations removed data was suspension load)
    -Corrected problem where "keep on last possible position" was not working
    -Added auto start in outputs
    -Added Motor torque and Stall variables to sources
    -New spike filter added to the advanced filter
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2019
  9. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    833
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    6,395Coins
    Ratings:
    +886 / 11 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    @hexpod,

    Here's the new version.
    It's not going to work perfectly, but it's the first step.

    Stall can't be used for now, but it's already there.
    Same with motor torque.

    In the ground source of XPlane, you can filter the accelerations (can't choose for now) under the speed specified on the source. Sem nome.jpg
    In filters we have the usual ones, but there's also a new filter.

    The spike filter as three fiels:
    #1 the value to filter
    #2 the amount of value variation we accept - If 10, we accept variatos up to 10, they pass, the others are filtered with field #3
    #3 the amount of the value variation we want to pass - For example 0.5 means we let pass the value received, but only half of it. Zero doesn't let pass any value. It stays with the last one.

    Results: In the next post...
    • Like Like x 1
  10. benmax

    benmax Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    65
    Balance:
    571Coins
    Ratings:
    +32 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hi,
    Could you put this information concerning filters back in the home page ok your thread pls ? It would be usefull using fiters feature .
    Thx
    • Agree Agree x 1
  11. hexpod

    hexpod http://heXpod.xyz

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    673
    Location:
    berlin
    Balance:
    4,427Coins
    Ratings:
    +194 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    Still trouble to get the phyphox data in.

    Could you please in your spare time to provide the QR code to the right experience ?

    Thank you very much.
  12. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    833
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    6,395Coins
    Ratings:
    +886 / 11 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Some results:
    Done.
    It's now in one of the topics from the first page and with some text for the new spike filter.
    • Like Like x 1
    • Winner Winner x 1
  13. hexpod

    hexpod http://heXpod.xyz

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    673
    Location:
    berlin
    Balance:
    4,427Coins
    Ratings:
    +194 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    Did you used Vtrue ktgs (ground speed) as reference for speed threshold ?

    Even with 0,01 it’s activated quite above to what we would need.

    Please double check it for me.

    EDIT:

    Maybe it would help if you leave it non converted in knots.
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2019
  14. hexpod

    hexpod http://heXpod.xyz

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    673
    Location:
    berlin
    Balance:
    4,427Coins
    Ratings:
    +194 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    Can it be that by applying some filtering (ex. Band pass) the direction of the axis is changing ?
  15. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    833
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    6,395Coins
    Ratings:
    +886 / 11 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    That's strange.. I'm also unable to connect... It was working last week?!

    Sorry,
    I will take a look tomorrow.
    I will change the units.
    I also noticed that we have persistent acceleration, even stopped. But to see it, we have to scale the graphics. I have to see it better. Might have some calculation wrong on the source.

    For Phyphox, I have it working, but on the home network.
    Could not connect remotely. That's strange.
    • Like Like x 1
  16. hexpod

    hexpod http://heXpod.xyz

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    673
    Location:
    berlin
    Balance:
    4,427Coins
    Ratings:
    +194 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    Btw. I don’t think we need a LPF on vertical acceleration in xplane on the source.

    I’ve noticed issues on longitudinal and lateral only
  17. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    833
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    6,395Coins
    Ratings:
    +886 / 11 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF

    Yes, there was an error in PhyPhox... It was working for me, because I hard coded my IP for testing :eek:
    That means that any IP you put there, is ignored. Sorry.
    It's already corrected, and I will post a new build today.

    In this new build, I also have some corrections on the XPlane filtering.
    The filter stopped working when we where out of the limits we defined.
    So when he came back to the limits, the value was completely wrong.
    I also had a swap between vertical and longitudinal accelerations.

    Added a new module to generate pose noise from a value:
    Sem nome.jpg
    This gives us the stall feature you requested.

    All seems to work, but there's a small problem with connections on the XPlane11 source.
    I'm working on it. When solved, I will post a new build.
    • Like Like x 2
  18. hexpod

    hexpod http://heXpod.xyz

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    673
    Location:
    berlin
    Balance:
    4,427Coins
    Ratings:
    +194 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    Great!

    As you probably noticed, the landing gear forces seems to output 6dof variables.

    I’ve never tried all 6 of them because I didn’t had enough slots in simtools but now, as we’re not limited in Mover, it would maybe worth the hassle to try not only the vertical gear load but also the others.

    My idea of division of vertical load by “actual weight” was to make this force independent from one aircraft to another. If we consider all of them, it would maybe need adjustments while switching.

    Anyway it’s maybe not for now as I didn’t explore the full separation capabilities of mover. just a thought in the air.

    Best
  19. hexpod

    hexpod http://heXpod.xyz

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    673
    Location:
    berlin
    Balance:
    4,427Coins
    Ratings:
    +194 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    For sure you know already that in editor under https://phyphox.com/editor you can decide about almost everything what’s goes in and out and what you want to store and export.

    If you could provide your experiment settings through xml file or qr code, (maybe better xml as you can edit afterwards) it would be helpful so we are sure we will not mess with different settings there.

    Thanks
  20. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    833
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    6,395Coins
    Ratings:
    +886 / 11 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    FlyPT Mover 2.3

    New build. Download in the first post of this topic as usual.

    Changes:

    For the XPlane11 source:
    -Corrected speeds. Now uses true air speed and true air ground depending on situation.
    -Removed filter for vertical acceleration.
    -Converted units in source from m/s to knots (in the numeric field).
    -Solved bug where longitudinal and vertical were swapped in some parts of the code.
    -Solved bug that allows continuity of the filters between starts and stops.

    Other changes:
    -Added a new pose module: "Pose from noise of value". Generates noise from a selected value:
    Sem nome.jpg
    -Changed high precision loop time default to disabled in options to to have low CPU load as default.
    -Corrected bug in PhyPhox source.
    PhyPhox.jpg
    -Added folder with example files to the download zip file.
    -Added example for PhyPhox, with filters that allow the use of speeds on rotations.

    How to use PhyPhox:
    PhyPhox is an Android and IOS(?) application that allows us to store and send data through Bluetooth and network to the PC.
    For more info, please visit: https://phyphox.org/

    With this source, you can capture data from the phone and reproduce in the rig the movements of the phone.
    It sends linear accelerations (with and without gravity) and rotational speeds.

    Since we receive speeds, we have to use filters to make the rig stay at least some time at the rotation we put the phone.
    Please use as a base the setup file I put inside the zip in the examples folder. (File->Open or drop in Mover)

    To setup the phone:
    #1 Instal an open PhyPhox

    Screenshot_20190925_163017_de.rwth_aachen.phyphox.jpg
    #2 Press the + circle in the lower right circle

    Screenshot_20190925_163120_de.rwth_aachen.phyphox.jpg
    #3 Press Add simple experiment

    Screenshot_20190925_163133_de.rwth_aachen.phyphox.jpg
    #4 Check Accelerometer, Gyroscope and Linear acceleration.
    If you want to, click on the "My Experiment" to change it's name. You can call it FlyPT Mover.

    Screenshot_20190925_163143_de.rwth_aachen.phyphox.jpg
    #5 Click on the 3 dots on the top right

    Screenshot_20190925_163152_de.rwth_aachen.phyphox.jpg
    #6 Check allow remote access

    Screenshot_20190925_163159_de.rwth_aachen.phyphox.jpg
    #7 Accept the security warning

    Screenshot_20190925_163207_de.rwth_aachen.phyphox.jpg
    #8 It should appear the IP and port used for communication.
    Use those values in the FlyPT Mover source.

    Screenshot_20190925_163213_de.rwth_aachen.phyphox.jpg
    #9 Now press the start button at the top, and you are now sending data to the indicated address.

    Note:
    I'm having problems accessing the data in remote networks. There was no problem before.
    Might be a problem in the servers.
    Please try with a local network.
    For that you need to put your phone on the same network of your PC.
    • Like Like x 1
    • Winner Winner x 1
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2019