1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

first project full frame 2 dof

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Joeri, Feb 18, 2019.

  1. Joeri

    Joeri Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2019
    Messages:
    62
    Occupation:
    car body repair shop
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Balance:
    271Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    hi guys,

    I normally play Project Cars2 on my ps4.

    I am trying to build a motion seat with my colleague
    We are now testing a bit and collecting stuff for a 2 dof motion seat.

    We want to try this first if this will work.

    Wooden base:

    IMG_7675.JPG

    Universal joint (porsche shaft)
    IMG_7676.JPG
    Base and top
    IMG_7677.JPG
    2 wiper engine
    IMG_7679.JPG
    IMG_7680.JPG

    These are all parts that we had around.
    Today I ordered the arddiuno uno.

    So somewhere this week we start with connecting the wires.

    Keep you informed ;)

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 3
  2. Joeri

    Joeri Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2019
    Messages:
    62
    Occupation:
    car body repair shop
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Balance:
    271Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    5B0B4925-E52D-4616-ACDF-47EE37B7DE5A.jpeg
    This is my rig how i got it now.
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Joeri

    Joeri Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2019
    Messages:
    62
    Occupation:
    car body repair shop
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Balance:
    271Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    got some new parts in today.
    the wires will arrive tomorrow.

    then we can start connecting this weekend

    Attached Files:

  4. Joeri

    Joeri Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2019
    Messages:
    62
    Occupation:
    car body repair shop
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Balance:
    271Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Got Some wires today.
    EB6EA846-BFF6-4535-A8B4-CCFE405BEC50.jpeg

    And start conect Some.

    4054D7C2-8E3D-48AF-AC86-766AD4185AE9.jpeg

    Work in progres.
  5. Joeri

    Joeri Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2019
    Messages:
    62
    Occupation:
    car body repair shop
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Balance:
    271Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Made this for testing

    186254C0-EB92-4B32-81E8-41CDE060A57D.jpeg
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Joeri

    Joeri Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2019
    Messages:
    62
    Occupation:
    car body repair shop
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Balance:
    271Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    I would like to test Now with Servos motors. In sim tools.

    where can I get the good code for ardiuino? And a preset for sim tools ?
  7. MarkusB

    MarkusB Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2015
    Messages:
    376
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    2,730Coins
    Ratings:
    +330 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
  8. Joeri

    Joeri Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2019
    Messages:
    62
    Occupation:
    car body repair shop
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Balance:
    271Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    thank you for your quick response. I will take a look in my break ;)
  9. Joeri

    Joeri Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2019
    Messages:
    62
    Occupation:
    car body repair shop
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Balance:
    271Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    If I want to upload the .cfg file to game engine I get this message:

    FDECD4AD-5D65-49CB-8C27-EC01F720ED50.jpeg
  10. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    12,756
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    97,460Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,170 / 40 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    That cfg was written for the old SimTopols 1.3 and has not been updated for SimTols 2, so manually configure: interface setup - IMPORTANT - The rest of the settings are in the following link but assuming a 2DOF for SimTools 2 the Interface Output should be set like this R<Axis1a>~L<Axis2a>~ https://www.xsimulator.net/community/attachments/rcsettings-jpg.48565/
  11. Joeri

    Joeri Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2019
    Messages:
    62
    Occupation:
    car body repair shop
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Balance:
    271Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    thank you. I will try it Next break.

    I am a software noob.
    I will have more questions later. thanks for the quick reactions so far
  12. Joeri

    Joeri Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2019
    Messages:
    62
    Occupation:
    car body repair shop
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Balance:
    271Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    It works!



    but when I start a game.
    he is going to move weird.



    anyone an idea how that is possible?
  13. Joeri

    Joeri Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2019
    Messages:
    62
    Occupation:
    car body repair shop
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Balance:
    271Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF


    succeeded! made a 1 servo motion. continue tomorrow with a 2 servo test scale
    • Like Like x 1
  14. Joeri

    Joeri Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2019
    Messages:
    62
    Occupation:
    car body repair shop
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Balance:
    271Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    I'm on the roll!

    connected to the ps4 with project cars 2.

    I'm so happy that this works :)

    • Like Like x 4
  15. ForbiddenEra

    ForbiddenEra New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Balance:
    127Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    A bit new to some of this..from a quick gleam, it seems this gametools is abme to extract data from I'm assuming the UDP output for pCars2 on ps4? Or is something else going on?

    I had no idea it was possible to get any motion sim stuff working on a console.

    Pretty cool, I wasn't sure what all data was available - I am using it with an app on my tablet for car telemetry but..
  16. ForbiddenEra

    ForbiddenEra New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Balance:
    127Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    I should have watched the video because it basically shows that's exactly what's happening. Sick!
  17. Joeri

    Joeri Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2019
    Messages:
    62
    Occupation:
    car body repair shop
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Balance:
    271Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Yes simtools uses the UDP data output from project cars.

    I was amazed at how easy it was to set it up.
  18. Joeri

    Joeri Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2019
    Messages:
    62
    Occupation:
    car body repair shop
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Balance:
    271Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    new scale test of today.

    2 servo motor test.

    • Like Like x 1
  19. Joeri

    Joeri Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2019
    Messages:
    62
    Occupation:
    car body repair shop
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Balance:
    271Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    if i want to connect it like this image where can i find the arduino code ? i can not find it.


    [​IMG]
  20. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    12,756
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    97,460Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,170 / 40 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    • Agree Agree x 1