1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Faulty Moto Monster? Is this a Valid test?

Discussion in 'SimTools compatible interfaces' started by mariano68, May 18, 2015.

  1. mariano68

    mariano68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    581
    Occupation:
    builder contractor
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    3,606Coins
    Ratings:
    +379 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, 4DOF
    Hey guys!
    I did this test yesterday, and my Moto Monster gave an error, 3 of the 4th test gave me 12v/-12v and the 4th gave me 4,96v, is this test known here and valid?


    test moto monster.jpg
    MOTOR 1. Unimos el pin D5 de la "Monster" al positivo (5v) y su pin D7 también al positivo (5v) verificamos con un multímetro que efectivamente arroja un resultado del +12v/12v indistintamente en la salida A1B1. Luego veremos que al usar los pines D5 y D8 el resultado debe darnos su sentido opuesto.

    Un error "algo común" es que una de las cuatro combinaciones arroje un volaje nulo (cero) o que no llegue al maximo de lo que tiene que dar. Por ejemplo 9v.

    Tendríamos ante nosotros una pieza defectuosa de fábrica.

    English:
    Connect pin D5 and pin D7 ( 5v ) of the "Moto Monster " to the positive ( 5V ), check with a multimeter that effectively gives a figure of + 12V / 12V output in A1B1 . Then we will see that by using the D5 D8 pins the result should give us the opposite direction. A common error is one of the four combinations voltaje throw a null (zero ) or does not reach the maximum of what to give. For example 9v . We would have then a defective Factory part
    .
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2015
  2. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    11,472
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    89,571Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,560 / 37 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    There have been repeated reported cases of Monster Motor boards being DOA, @SilentChill is just the latest: http://www.xsimulator.net/community...otors-mms-and-arduinos.6948/page-7#post-81233

    Can someone who is knowledgeable about the Monster Moto, like @Pit, @RufusDufus, @eaorobbie or others, determine if @mariano68's test is valid, or if there is some other simple way to test Monster Motor boards, so we can add it to the FAQs and encourage people to test their Monster Motor boards when they arrive, rather than trying to troubleshoot when a sim does not perform as expected.
    • Agree Agree x 1
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2015
  3. wokcz

    wokcz New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2015
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    130Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0 / -0
    Hope an experienced user can confirm is the test is valid, I'd like to test my mm before building anything.
  4. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,107
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    16,718Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,833 / 28 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I would say no not a valid test as you need to put the MM under load with something that's going to draw some current from it.
    I had a few that showed 12v and -12v but as soon as I connected a motor it just dropped to zero and the motor didn't turn.
  5. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    11,472
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    89,571Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,560 / 37 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    So, lock the motor in the vice would do it @SilentChill ?

    I gather the MM wold have some built in current overload, so is there a risk it won't cut in fast enough and hence you could cook the MM?
  6. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,107
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    16,718Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,833 / 28 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    No I just used a rc motor from my fans to test . Probably using a light bulb may work also
    • Useful Useful x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Alexey

    Alexey Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Messages:
    415
    Occupation:
    Electronics Technician
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Balance:
    7,246Coins
    Ratings:
    +552 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I hope I'm wrong but in the datasheet the VNH2SP30 shows that the PWM needs to have a minimum off time so as not to go into fault mode as it might see the constant voltage as a short circuit. The test shown here has the PWM pin clamped high. The datasheet also provides a diagnostic truth table so that the fault can be diagnosed. My knowledge in this area is limited and the datasheet isn't particularly clear on how to properly interpret these fault conditions.

    http://cdn.sparkfun.com/datasheets/Dev/Arduino/Shields/10832.pdf

    Page 10 has the reference to the PWM protection shown under Table 9
    Page 14 has the normal and fault truth table
    Page 20 explains a little bit about how the fault protection works
    Page 21 has the fault clearing method

    I suppose my biggest concern with the test is if the PWM protection does kick in or not after applying a constant voltage to the PWM pins.
    • Informative Informative x 2
  8. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,985
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    25,017Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,312 / 20 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I hook mine up just like I would in a sim with a ARD + pot to supply the enables/PWM to run it, except the motor is just sitting on the bench. As per @SilentChill s video.
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
  9. Alexey

    Alexey Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Messages:
    415
    Occupation:
    Electronics Technician
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Balance:
    7,246Coins
    Ratings:
    +552 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Yes I think that is the best way to test them, as you would actually use them in the simulator.
  10. ruba

    ruba Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2017
    Messages:
    41
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Krasnoyarsk
    Balance:
    - 95Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, Arduino
    In my case near 50% MM from alibaba have problems.. Tested with motor with ~1A no load current.