1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Fanatec vs Thrustmaster

Discussion in 'Electronic and hardware generally' started by Archie, Dec 26, 2016.

  1. Archie

    Archie Eternal tinkerer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,057
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW, AU
    Balance:
    3,366Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,327 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Well...Well... Well..

    I bought a second hand TS300 with pedals some months back and while "OK" I thought the feedback was weak.

    As luck would have it I got some Clubsport v1 pedals and an aging CSR wheel last week from Ebay. Both under $170.

    Given the TS300 is "new", the CSR blows the TS300 away. The engine vibration, general force of the feedback / Load cell brake / pedal vibration. I'm amazed.

    Now to save pennies for V2 / V3 combo. :D

    Thrustmaster onto Ebay.....
    • Like Like x 2
  2. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,032
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    15,613Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,695 / 27 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I can get a CSR Elite wheel for £225 is it worth the purchase to upgrade from my G27 ??
  3. My.stAr

    My.stAr Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    89
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    778Coins
    Ratings:
    +40 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor
    @SilentChill
    why don't you build an opensimwheel? should take you 1 hour with your building speed:p
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,032
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    15,613Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,695 / 27 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    HaHa the cost is the reason I have spent a fortune lately
  5. Archie

    Archie Eternal tinkerer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,057
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW, AU
    Balance:
    3,366Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,327 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    From a G27 to the CSR Elite wont so much be an upgrade as an "experience"

    Even the 10+ year old CSR I now have is awesome.

    225 quid ($384 to me) is expensive given the current exchange rate, but if that is the going rate, I say go for it!!
    Been ages since I've had to think of things in pounds vs dollars.

    Was the CSR elites the one before the Clubsport? The base looks very similar.

    I'm a Fanatec convert now. They are worth every cent IMHO.

    EDIT: Just looked up the CSR Elite - Yes it's the "clubsport"-esque base. I'd buy it :D
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Archie

    Archie Eternal tinkerer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,057
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW, AU
    Balance:
    3,366Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,327 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
  7. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,032
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    15,613Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,695 / 27 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
  8. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,032
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    15,613Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,695 / 27 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF

    bollox I've totally screwed up and ordered the wrong pedals, thats what happens when doing drunk shopping online. I ordered the CSR Pedals not the Elite ones lolol DOH !!!
    • Funny Funny x 1
  9. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    437
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    3,265Coins
    Ratings:
    +85 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Is the fantec csr much better than the g25 ?/27

    Is the fantec less nm than the g25 ?
  10. Michael Keymont

    Michael Keymont “I’m racing a Ferrari in the Matrix...” Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2017
    Messages:
    24
    Occupation:
    Creative Technologist
    Location:
    Bellingham, MA - USA
    Balance:
    248Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I used a G27 for a long time, then upgraded to a Thrustmaster TSPC Racer and T3PA Pro pedals, then to Fantec Clubsport V2 with V3 pedals. I wish I could go back and just start with the Fanatec stuff. It looked too expensive at the time, but then you upgrade your way to it eventually and spend twice as much in the process. Likewise with this motion gear. First I went to the junkyard for wiper motors, then I bought new ones from the Auto store, then I bought some from eBay and now I'm looking at SCN5s....
    - Mike
    • Agree Agree x 1
  11. cover4x4

    cover4x4 New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Location:
    Spain
    Balance:
    185Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    I passed a Logitech G27 to a Thrustmaster TS-XW Racer with inverted pedals from the G27 and I'm in love with the TS-XW. I think you have a balance between price / performance and you have several Thrustmaster steering wheel to choose from at a good price. The next step would be a Direct Drive.

    Yo pasé a un Logitech G27 a un Thrustmaster TS-XW Racer con pedales invertidos del G27 y estoy enamorado del TS-XW. Creo que tiene un equilibrio entre precio/prestaciones y tienes varios volantes Thrustmaster a elegir a buen precio. El siguiente paso ya sería un Direct Drive.
  12. Brett Horton

    Brett Horton Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2016
    Messages:
    280
    Occupation:
    UAS Manager / Pilot / Integration Specialist
    Location:
    Tampa FL
    Balance:
    666Coins
    Ratings:
    +185 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK, Motion platform
    The Fanatec 2.5 is leaps and bounds better than the v2 as well...
  13. Jerry Atrick

    Jerry Atrick this is my sim Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 3, 2017
    Messages:
    74
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Balance:
    686Coins
    Ratings:
    +24 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    4DOF
    Hi all, Ive been pouring over specs to upgrade my CSR and peddles, it would be nice if someone here in Sydney had some test rigs to try (Fanatec / Thrusmaster) before the purchase; plenty of the entry levels available, but no one seems to have a mid to high range to try!

    So anyone know about a test rig to try out?

    Jerry.

Share This Page