1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

DIY project 2DOF foldable compact simulator Changes to switch to 4DOF

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by mazak515, Aug 29, 2013.

  1. mazak515

    mazak515 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2013
    Messages:
    209
    Occupation:
    cnc milling on
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    107Coins
    Ratings:
    +136 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 4DOF
    I join a picture to the single bridge
    I'm wired :
    Mot1 : ENA to 2 pot to A0
    ENB to 3
    PWM to 9
    Mot2 : ENA to 4 pot to A1
    ENB to 5
    PWM to 10
    The pot is center conect to the arduino
    I think this wiring is not good or the arduino code is not good for this wiring
    20160307_121216.jpg

  2. rattler

    rattler

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Nice sim @mazak515 , looks real good, your build is part of the inspiration for my compacting simulator as well.
    • Like Like x 1
  3. mazak515

    mazak515 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2013
    Messages:
    209
    Occupation:
    cnc milling on
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    107Coins
    Ratings:
    +136 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 4DOF
    j'ai finis par trouver ... enfin j'espère ! :confused:
    c'est un problème de soudure sur les cartes !
    les cartes moteurs sont a double piste
    hier soir j'ai reçu les neuves donc j'ai fait des test avec une vieille
    en fait sur les bornes + et - et OUT A , OUT B il faut bien souder les fils de chaque coté de la carte

    I finally found ... at least I hope!
    is a welding problem on the cards!
    maps engines are a dual track
    yesterday evening I received new, so I did some testing with an old
    in fact on the + and - and OUT A, OUT B we must weld the cables on each side of the card
    • Winner Winner x 1
  4. mazak515

    mazak515 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2013
    Messages:
    209
    Occupation:
    cnc milling on
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    107Coins
    Ratings:
    +136 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 4DOF
    bon je viens de tester toutes mes cartes ... sur les 6, il n'y en a que 1 seule qui fonctionne convenablement des deux cotés j'en conclu que se sont les cartes qui sont de mauvaises qualitées ... made in china !!
    pourtant, je les ai achetées en angleterre
    donc je vais devoir acheter encore d'autres modèles je vais du coups acheter des dual

    well I just tested my cards ... about 6, there is one that only properly functioning on both sides I have concluded that the cards are bad qualities ... made in china !!
    Yet I purchased in England
    So I'm going to still buy other models of the shots I'll buy dual
  5. rattler

    rattler

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    maybe consider JRKS instead. Ive been reading a LOT of threads, and Ive noticed a lot less hassle with JRKS, despite the cost.
  6. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,293
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    9,102Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,234 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    • Like Like x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
  7. mazak515

    mazak515 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2013
    Messages:
    209
    Occupation:
    cnc milling on
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    107Coins
    Ratings:
    +136 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 4DOF
    @rattler j'ai toute ma configuration basée sur des modules VNH2SP, les 6 cartes m'ont déja couté assez cher.
    je ne veux pas tout changer de plus le but étant de réaliser un simulateur avec un coût abordable, j'envisage par la suite de monter des moteurs plus performants que des moteurs d'essuie glaces.
    je doit avouer que là je suis assez refroidit .

    @bruce stephen les revendeurs ne manquent pas pour ce type de cartes, il faut simplement tomber sur le bon le problème c'est le delais, je suis sur la partie éléctronique depuis le 25 decembre et rien ne marche a ce jour, ça commence a faire long !

    @rattler I have all my settings based on VNH2SP modules, 6 cards have already cost me quite expensive.
    I do not want to change everything over the goal being to make a simulator with affordable, I plan eventually to go better engines as windscreen wipers engines.
    I must admit that now I'm pretty cool.

    @bruce stephen dealers abound for this type of card, simply getting the right the problem is the delay, I am on the electronic part from December 25 and nothing works to this day, it starts to make long!
  8. mazak515

    mazak515 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2013
    Messages:
    209
    Occupation:
    cnc milling on
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    107Coins
    Ratings:
    +136 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 4DOF
  9. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,293
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    9,102Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,234 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Same Chinese product just 4.50us more. Unsure about dx return policy as I have not used them before. I only offered the seller on eBay because of previous luck.
    • Like Like x 1
  10. rattler

    rattler

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    So how much have 6 cards cost you so far ? And how many DOF you running?
  11. mazak515

    mazak515 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2013
    Messages:
    209
    Occupation:
    cnc milling on
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    107Coins
    Ratings:
    +136 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 4DOF
  12. Casey Pareni

    Casey Pareni MasterP

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    Messages:
    27
    Occupation:
    Firefighter
    Location:
    Arizona
    Balance:
    350Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Dang cant see any of your pic!
  13. Casey Pareni

    Casey Pareni MasterP

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    Messages:
    27
    Occupation:
    Firefighter
    Location:
    Arizona
    Balance:
    350Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    That's really great!
  14. Casey Pareni

    Casey Pareni MasterP

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    Messages:
    27
    Occupation:
    Firefighter
    Location:
    Arizona
    Balance:
    350Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    This is beautiful! Impressive craftsmanship, I hope I can make my simulator this clean someday. Sorry for the newb question, but what kind of tubing are you using for your frame? I really love that look. I used 1" steel tubing for mine and it looks pretty rough.
    • Like Like x 1
  15. mazak515

    mazak515 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2013
    Messages:
    209
    Occupation:
    cnc milling on
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    107Coins
    Ratings:
    +136 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 4DOF
    I know for photos, they are on a host I can give them if you're interested. for aluminum profile used is the brand profile 40x40 Elcom there are 2 models, the lightweight and rigid, I use both models in different places of the structure, stand him, is 30x30 steel Mechanically welded the tubes that support screens are 25x25 steel
  16. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2,233
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    20,469Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,074 / 21 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    with this wonderful forum, it's as simple as drag and drop your images from your desktop onto the message :) tadaaa
    • Like Like x 1
  17. mazak515

    mazak515 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2013
    Messages:
    209
    Occupation:
    cnc milling on
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    107Coins
    Ratings:
    +136 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 4DOF
    salut !
    oui je sais pour les photos juste compliqué de reprendre le poste depuis le début pour pouvoir toutes les remettre
    bon, bonne nouvelles ! finalement les single 30A VNH2sp3 fonctionnent parfaitement avec smc mais vu que certaines étaient défectueuses ça me mettais le seconde en défaut !
    deux bonnes cartes branchées sur la même carte arduino fontionnent parfaitement !
    mais je vais me retrouver avec une grosse quantité de carte maintenent !
    j'ai commandé 3 dual chez DX, et le vendeur d'ebay me propose un remplacement ou un remboursement des cartes défectueuses
    j'ai aussi simplifié mon cablage j'ai abandonné les fiches SUB D, je connecte directement les moteurs, aux cartes H bridge et les potentiometres à l'arduino.
    j'espère pouvoir enfin disposer de 4 axes opérationnels ! pour vois si mon système d'inclinaison du siège baquet pour les forces G, fonctionne

    Hello !
    yes I know for complicated just take pictures of the position from the beginning to be able to recover all
    good, good news! finally the single 30A VNH2sp3 work perfectly with smc but because some were defective it put me second in default!
    two good cards connected to the same Arduino board fontionnent perfectly!
    but I will end up with a large amount of maintenent map!
    I ordered 3 dual in DX, and ebay seller offers me a replacement or refund defective cards
    I also simplified my wiring I dropped the D-SUB plug, I connect directly motors, H bridge cards and potentiometers to the Arduino.
    I hope to finally have four business lines! to see if my system tilt the bucket seat for the G forces work
  18. DonCorleonez

    DonCorleonez Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    81
    Balance:
    193Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    nice looking build @mazak515, you make me in difficult decision (in a good way), your build like or cxc like (mr. @Milton).
    And if you dont mind please reupload your pics.
  19. mazak515

    mazak515 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2013
    Messages:
    209
    Occupation:
    cnc milling on
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    107Coins
    Ratings:
    +136 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 4DOF
    salut a tous et tres bonne année 2017 !
    je suis de retour ! longue absence du a des pb de santé
    en affet je sais faire encore évoluer mon simulateur
    mais, j'ai un problème sur un des 4 moteurs et je n'arrives pas a détecter le problème.
    j'explique : j'ai doublé le système pour pouvoir piloter les 4 moteurs, soit
    2 cartes arduino uno et 2 cartes Motomonster j'avais tenté de le faire foncytionner avec des motomoster single mais j'ai eue pas mal de problèmes
    avec les dual Motomonster ça fonctionne mais depuis quelques jours j'ai un des moteurs qui ne tournes que dans un sens.
    le pot est OK le moteur aussi
    d'apres vous d'ou peut venir le problème ? la carte arduino ou la carte Motomonster

    Hello all and very good year 2017!
    I'm back ! Long absence of pb health
    In fact I can still make evolve my simulator
    But, I have a problem on one of the 4 engines and I can not detect the problem.
    I explained: I have doubled the system to be able to drive the 4 engines, either
    2 cards arduino uno and 2 cards Motomonster I had tried to run it with motomoster single but I had quite a few problems
    With the dual Motomonster it works but for a few days I have one of the engines that only turns in a sense.
    The pot is OK the engine too
    From you of or can come the problem? the Arduino board or card Motomonster
  20. mazak515

    mazak515 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2013
    Messages:
    209
    Occupation:
    cnc milling on
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    107Coins
    Ratings:
    +136 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 4DOF
    voilà quelques photos récentes du simu en 4 dof
    sur les dernières on vois l'implantation des cartes qui sont tres peu accessibles a moins de démonter une partie de l'ensemble
    donc un peu d'aide me serai bien utile

    Here are some recent photos of the simu in 4 dof
    On the last one we see the implantation of the cards which are very little accessible unless to dismantle a part of the whole
    So a little help would be useful to me

    Attached Files: