1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

DIY 2DOF Motion Simulator

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Sam Neall, Aug 25, 2019.

  1. Sam Neall

    Sam Neall Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2019
    Messages:
    106
    Balance:
    34Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Materials:
    Electronics-2xtruck wiper motors, Arduino, Monster Moto Motor Driver (2x30A), 12v 30A Power Supply, 12 AWG and 16 AWG wire, 3x wire terminals for motor driver, 4x wire terminal block, spare 120v plug, Motor driver heatsink, power adapter for Arduino, usb cable for Arduino, and Logitech G29 Wheel with pedals.

    Platform- 1‘ x 6 3/4” x 3/4” MDF steering wheel base
    8“ x 6 3/4” x 3/4” shifter base
    6x U brackets
    21 5/8” x 1” square metal tubing acting as out rigger for motor actuators
    Two 52“ x 1 1/4“ metal tubing mounted to seat in order to mount pedals.
    inverted pedal mount
    Seat from truck
    10 X 3/8 inch bolts
    3 90° 2” PVC joints
    5 1/2 inch piece of PVC
    8 3/4 inch PVC
    2x 1” pieces of PVC
    21” piece of PVC
    19”piece of PVC
    5/8 inch piece of 1 1/4 inch metal tubing and 2x 1 foot lengths of 1 1/4 inch metal tubing

    Base-13 1/8” x 46 1/4” piece of sheet metal
    9“ x 21 3/4“ piece of plywood for motor mount
    2x 7 3/8” pieces of 2 1/2“ x 2 1/2“ metal 90° brackets to attach motor to motor mount
    7 3/8” x 2 1/2” MDF spacer for motor bracket
    4 inch piece of 90° sheet metal for potentiometers




    This project started with a stationary DIY motion simulator

    IMG_3163.JPG IMG_3164.JPG IMG_3165.JPG IMG_3166.JPG IMG_3297.JPG

    Logitech G29 Set
    IMG_3149.JPG IMG_3150.JPG

    DIY Tactile Transducer
    IMG_3102.JPG IMG_3103.JPG IMG_3104.JPG


    Inverted pedal design from amstudio on YouTube
    IMG_3145.JPG IMG_3148.JPG IMG_3153.JPG




    To start building the 2DOF Simulator, I went to a truck scrapyard to get a seat, wiper motors, and a universal joint.
    IMG_3205.JPG IMG_3206.JPG IMG_3207.JPG IMG_3295.JPG IMG_3296.JPG
    Temporary stand for seat. I bolted the uni-joint to the seat bracket (I will later weld this in place to prevent rotation)
    IMG_3323.JPG


    As you can see I have mounted two lengths of metal tubing to the seat. I mounted the pedals on this.

    IMG_3324.JPG IMG_3325.JPG IMG_3326.JPG IMG_3327.JPG IMG_3328.JPG

    I shortened the width of the wheel mount of the original. I mounted that with two u bolts. (I kept the mounts for the wheel and shifter)
    IMG_3341.JPG IMG_3342.JPG IMG_3343.JPG

    I attached a bracket for the shifter

    IMG_3349.JPG


    1st base attempt-

    I cut out three plywood circles and mounted them to a plywood base. I then drilled a 1" hole in it.
    IMG_3359.JPG IMG_3360.JPG IMG_3361.JPG
    I made two brackets to mount the motor on (I will modify the brackets later)
    IMG_0093.JPG IMG_0094.JPG IMG_0095.JPG
    I am trying to find ways to mount the potentiometer.

    This glue didn't work
    IMG_3536.JPG

    I ended up using super glue.
    IMG_3534.JPG


    Those pieces fell out so I decided to notch the nuts out and make a more robust connection.


    This piece of metal tubing (much smaller than the other one) I used for an outrigger to mount the motor rods on.
    IMG_3591.JPG IMG_3592.JPG IMG_3593.JPG


    I realized that this base wont work because the uni-joint could rotate on its axis



    2nd Base attempt
    I decided to use a piece of sheet metal. I cut 3 one foot lengths of the metal tubing and attached them to the new base like so. I drilled the holes in the top one 1 size bigger. This was because I wanted some play in it so that if the front wasn't completely in line with the rest of the base than I could make some minor adjustments before I weld it in place. I also welded the uni joint to the seat bracket.
    I tried welding the bottom ones but It wouldn't work because it wasn't the same metal.
    IMG_0121.JPEG

    I cut out this part of the original base to maintain the width of the motors.
    IMG_0122.JPEG IMG_0123.JPEG

    I modified the mounts to allow 180 degree rotation
    IMG_0265.jpg

    This is the electronics mount I made
    IMG_0255.jpg IMG_0256.jpg IMG_0257.jpg IMG_0258.jpg IMG_0259.jpg IMG_0260.jpg IMG_0261.jpg IMG_0262.jpg

    I am currently working on the electronics and will update this when I get them working with the program.
    update: I have changed a ton and it looks completely different. I will complete all of the setup for the games, get my 5D movie effects running, and get a hotas mounted then I’ll update.

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2020
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,755
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    109,028Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,897 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  4. Sam Neall

    Sam Neall Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2019
    Messages:
    106
    Balance:
    34Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    @noorbeast Thanks for the recommendations in the other thread. I will post future problems here. I re-welded the base. The uni joint is now at the top and the structure is balanced. I’ll let you know if I get the motors working smooth. AA14D5AB-E340-479E-8FB9-42F74035547E.jpeg A60E0170-74AF-4503-918D-319F22C2F78C.jpeg
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Sam Neall

    Sam Neall Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2019
    Messages:
    106
    Balance:
    34Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    @noorbeast It is reassembled again and SMC3 is dialed in correctly. I’m currently working on the motion profile, and I can’t get SimTools to work with live for speed. I can test axis assignments and they move and the game manager says that it is connected to LFS. I’ve tried reinstalling the patch. I’m trying to capture limits and, judging from the tutorial, I can’t do that without running the simulator in a game. What are some troubleshooting steps that I can go through to find out why the game isn’t connecting SimTools. Also, even with no weight on the motors, they are still jumpy and laggy. Will this be fixed by setting the maximum and minimum values because that’s the only thing I have left to do in setting up the motion profile. I’m thinking of getting new motors because the ones I got have a lot of backlash.
    Thanks!
  6. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,755
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    109,028Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,897 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    LFS need to be run before it is patched, see here for details: https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...run-in-first-person-mode-before-patching.345/

    All wormdrive gearboxes have some backlash: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/wormdrive-backlash.293/

    A small amount of weight bias when balancing a rig can help minimise but not eliminate backlash.
  7. Sam Neall

    Sam Neall Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2019
    Messages:
    106
    Balance:
    34Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
  8. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,755
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    109,028Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,897 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Please post pictures of all of your settings.
  9. Sam Neall

    Sam Neall Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2019
    Messages:
    106
    Balance:
    34Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    81FA002B-60C9-44D9-86F2-CF4AC2CBB051.jpeg
    D93325F2-4819-45FE-B401-AC54C2C9CAA4.jpeg 7EE9C45C-3B0E-4086-8553-48FB778FFD53.jpeg BE0E1680-2C01-4FA8-ACAD-349594EC35A8.jpeg ED7BC1D5-D08B-456A-85A8-BF18DA923570.jpeg

    Attached Files:

  10. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,755
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    109,028Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,897 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Can I just confirm that SimTools and the SMC3 tool are not being run at the same time, as that would cause a port conflict.

    Does the upper green row of the Tuning Center have data when LFS is running? If so try temporarily disabling the firewall and anti-virus.

    The TC values look to be a bit too high.
  11. Sam Neall

    Sam Neall Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2019
    Messages:
    106
    Balance:
    34Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    They aren’t on at the same time. The green row doesn’t get data while testing in game, but it does get data while testing the axis assignments.
    I will adjust the TC and get back to you. I will be gone for about a week before I can test it out.
  12. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,755
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    109,028Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,897 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    If the TC top row is not getting data try temporarily disabling the firewall and anti-virus. Then un-patch LFS, Run a race in first person mode, then re-patch LFS and test it.
  13. Sam Neall

    Sam Neall Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2019
    Messages:
    106
    Balance:
    34Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Ok that worked. However I am encountering a reoccurring problem with the positioning of one motor. For some reason motor 2 will get stuck at a certain position sometimes and will not react to the game. It’s about 25% below the centerpoint. When it gets stuck in this position the driver overheats the motor. While I was capturing movements for the tuning center, I didn’t notice that the motor was stuck and it started smoking haha. I ruled out potentiometer attachment as a potential problem because when I put it into its default position (0% pitch and roll), the simulator position stays the same after this problem occurs, signifying that the potentiometers never slipped on the motor axis and became offset by a small amount. I doubt it’s a problem with the motor’s physical state (something like a messed up gear) because it only happens sometimes. the motor can go past that certain point one time but then get stuck on it the next time it goes down.
  14. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,755
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    109,028Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,897 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    My guess is that you are using pretty small motors to drive a lot of mass and that either the motors are not up to the task given the design of the rig and lever CTC used, or your PID is not dialed in properly, or perhaps even a combination of both.
  15. Sam Neall

    Sam Neall Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2019
    Messages:
    106
    Balance:
    34Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Well when I use the motors without any weight on it the same lagging and jumping problems happen along with the motor getting stuck. In that position. What PID settings could cause this because I seriously doubt it’s the design considering the motors do this whether they are attached to the rig or not.
  16. Sam Neall

    Sam Neall Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2019
    Messages:
    106
    Balance:
    34Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I could post a video if you’d like.
  17. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,755
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    109,028Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,897 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  18. Sam Neall

    Sam Neall Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2019
    Messages:
    106
    Balance:
    34Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    What do you suggest I do? I showed the settings and it didn’t raise any red flags so that points to the hardware of my simulator as the problem . How would I go about troubleshooting that? Before it was just a matter of troubleshooting connection but now troubleshooting calls for finding out why faulty signals are being sent. I’m not sure how to troubleshoot that.
  19. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,755
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    109,028Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,897 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  20. Sam Neall

    Sam Neall Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2019
    Messages:
    106
    Balance:
    34Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Sorry I haven’t updated my feed yet. I’m using a sabertooth 2X32 now. I found out the problem though. Even though I ruled out potentiometer attachment as a potential cause for the problem, it turns out that’s what was causing some of the issues. It turns out the potentiometers were slipping on the motor axis I have them attached to. I didn’t think it was causing the problem before because it would somehow fix itself every time I went back into SMC3 after testing in SimTools. I really have no clue why the potentiometer stayed calibrated after slipping the other times I tested it. With this time, the motor is in the lowest position and it is reading close to center in SMC3 so the potentiometer obviously came detached from the motor axis at some point during testing. I thought the way I had them attached was going to be good enough but I apparently I need to find a new way to attach them to the motors.
    • Like Like x 1
  21. Rifly

    Rifly Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2020
    Messages:
    38
    Occupation:
    freelance photographer
    Location:
    Latvia
    Balance:
    62Coins
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Good work! I will borrow some ideas for improving mine rig :)