1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Question Demo license for scale model 6DOF motion ?

Discussion in 'New users start here - FAQ' started by FoxONe42, Apr 15, 2018.

  1. FoxONe42

    FoxONe42 6DOF newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Aix-en-Provence France
    Balance:
    52Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, 6DOF
    Hi Guys,
    I am new to the forum and this is my first post.
    Some time ago, I build a home cockpit for R22 and now want to go to the motion platform way.

    I am planning on bulding a 6DOF stewart platform, but I am not sure about my skills / time / budget to do so.
    So I decided to first built a scale model using RC servos and interface it to X-plane 11 with an Arduino Uno through SIMTOOLS V2.0 software.

    Since I am not sure I 'll turn this scale model into a full size project, I was wondering it there is a way to get a "temporary" license for simtool to get to know simtools with the scale model. Because as far I understand, since I am building only the scale model for the time being, I do not qualify for the free license. Did I get this correctely ?

    My goal is to do this step by step.
    ==> Make my RC servo scale model with simtools and arduino, controlled directely (no flight sime interface yet)
    ==> Get a plugin to interface it with X plane
    ==> Go for the full size built if the previous steps are satisfactory

    Does it sound like acceptable to you guys ?
    Thanks in advance
  2. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    10,405
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    83,178Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,034 / 33 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    The fully function Live For Speed plugin is bundled with the SimTools 2 demo version, specifically for the purpose of testing. What plugin you use for testing does not really matter so use that for your model.

    A model does not qualify for a free DIY SimTools license. To qualify for a free license: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/request-a-free-diy-simtools-2-0-license.262/

    • You must be building a true DIY motion simulator. (Not built from a kit or purchased from a simulator seller, a model simulator does not qualify.)
    • Have a unique build thread or Showcase in DIY Simulator Projects. (The thread should show some effort, which means it should show progress to the testing phase.)
    • Have been a member of the community for at least 30 days.
  3. FoxONe42

    FoxONe42 6DOF newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Aix-en-Provence France
    Balance:
    52Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, 6DOF
    Thanks for your quick reply and sorry for missing out, it is clearly mentioned that a model simulator doesn't qualify indeed.
    ALright then, I guess I am going to get a DIY license for my tests and use it along with Live for Speed. Then, I'll get the X-plane plugin. X-plane 10 pluging should work with 11 as well if I am correct ?
  4. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    10,405
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    83,178Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,034 / 33 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  5. FoxONe42

    FoxONe42 6DOF newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Aix-en-Provence France
    Balance:
    52Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, 6DOF
    Very nice. Thanks again, that is gonna be usefull when it comes to the 2 nd step of my project.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  6. Thanos

    Thanos Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    115
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    1,004Coins
    Ratings:
    +171 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, AC motor, Joyrider, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Ian's 6DOF BFF motion software provides 15 minutes full functionality to test things (demo).
    http://bffsimulation.com/6DOF-Motion-Software.php

    Simtools should implement same offer, so people can try their simulator while in building stage, whether its a small scale model or full size platform. I personally use many different computers for testing the interfaces and motors before I finally install the licensed motion software on the actual computer that the motion platform uses.

    Thanks
    Thanos
  7. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    10,405
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    83,178Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,034 / 33 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    The SimTools demo does offer full motion functionality, and is not time limited, using the included Live For Speed plugin.
  8. Thanos

    Thanos Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    115
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    1,004Coins
    Ratings:
    +171 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, AC motor, Joyrider, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Yes, I'm aware of that, but a time limited demo so you can try other titles like some flight simulators for example, would be nice.
  9. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    10,405
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    83,178Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,034 / 33 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Given how many titles SimTools supports, and the complexity of maintaining those with constant changes to games, I would think makes what you suggest totally impractical, given the huge and constant work it would take to maintain such an approach. I would much rather see @yobuddy and others spend their time on actually developing and refining SimTools and associated functionality.
  10. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimTools Developer SimAxe Beta Tester Gold Contributor SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,544
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    28,228Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,744 / 7 / -0
    I find that most of the time during the building stage, its not really about what game is being played, but more about understanding how it all works.
    So having titles cut off after 15mins would be frustrating in the building stage.
    As nobody wants to have to keep changing games when they are only trying to get their sim working.

    So that's why I went with a single working title for demo mode.
    It allows for an unlimited amount of time to fiddle with the hardware/software and get your sim working.
    Take care,
    yobuddy
    • Agree Agree x 2
  11. FoxONe42

    FoxONe42 6DOF newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Aix-en-Provence France
    Balance:
    52Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, 6DOF
    I just realised this topic was being answered and just noticed it now :(
    Anyway, regarding the free demo, I would agree that a free time limited demo would make sense. I mean, I understand there is a free plug in for LFS, but still a DIY for SimTools has to be purchased before that if I understand correctely, even for a scale model.
    I am fully willing to pay the price for that given the benefits and amount of time spent by the developper I imagine, however, I would rather do it once I can confirm the feasibility of the full size project, that is after the scale model is completed and successful.
    • Like Like x 1
  12. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    10,405
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    83,178Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,034 / 33 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    The Live For Speed plugin is fully functional in the SimTools Demo version, specifically for the purpose of testing, you can test as many DOF real or RC driven rigs as you like with it.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  13. FoxONe42

    FoxONe42 6DOF newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Aix-en-Provence France
    Balance:
    52Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, 6DOF
    Thanks for your reply.
    There is something I must have gotten wrong. What do you mean by SimTools demo version ? I thought the way to get SimTools was either to be eligible for a free license ( which is not my case) or purchase the DIY license.
    Did I miss something ?
  14. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    10,405
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    83,178Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,034 / 33 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    The demo version of SimTools can be downloaded for free and includes the fully functional Live For Speed plugin, specifically for testing purposes: https://www.xsimulator.net/simtools-motion-simulator-software/

    You can't use any other plugins with the demo version of SimTools, nor its advanced modules like Game Vibe and Game Dash, for that you need a licenses: https://simtools.us/license/

    Access to plugins, for the DIY or Pro versions of SimTools, can be either via real money or forum activity coins: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/coins-and-how-to-download-plugins.2/

    See here to find out more about the revenue sharing arrangements between SimTools (software) and Xsimulator.net (community): https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/simtools-and-xsimulator-partnership-explained.275/

    You will find this and other useful information in the FAQs: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/

Share This Page