1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Connection vfd

Discussion in 'SimTools compatible interfaces' started by zapata_h, Apr 11, 2019.

  1. zapata_h

    zapata_h Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2013
    Messages:
    90
    Balance:
    - 47Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Could a direct connection be made between arduino smc3 and a variable speed drive?
  2. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,894
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    13,765Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,609 / 30 / -1
  3. zapata_h

    zapata_h Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2013
    Messages:
    90
    Balance:
    - 47Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Thank you for your answer, I have seen that plate several times, but I do not see myself able to build it, so I asked if maybe there was another way such as modbus or rs485 / 232
  4. dddman

    dddman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2019
    Messages:
    14
    Balance:
    135Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    If you mean controlling a VFD with an arduino, you can, but not directly. You would need an operational amplifier, a 12V supply and probably a transistor (with a couple of resistor around it) to be able to scale your analog 5V voltage to analog 0-10V needed by the VFD. Also keep in mind that an arduino doesn't do analog output, it's a PWM that simulate a lower voltage (think of switching the light very fast, the total lominosity will seem lower).

    Pretty simple when you can do hand soldering on a proto board. I can help if you need.

    [reviving old treads! yeah!]
  5. zapata_h

    zapata_h Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2013
    Messages:
    90
    Balance:
    - 47Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Thanks for your answer, the board to convert the 0-5v to 0-10v for the speed reference I have it working ok, the problem is that if I try to connect the outputs of smc3 dir1 and dir2 I can not get the inverter to work, I guess the solution will happen to use the speedy plate