1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Lesson CHEAP CHINESE MONSTER MOTO CLONES AND PROBLEMS

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by SilentChill, Sep 12, 2016.

  1. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,529
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,286Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,267 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Okay so after a year of lots of smoking cheap MM clones I would like to post some pictures just to let you see how bad these things have got.

    This is how many bad MM's I have had which have faults in one way or another. I have not pictured the six which I have blown up myself by accident :D

    20160912_195947.jpg

    The first batch I bought way back when I first started my 6DOF project were these MM clones, not seen any of these around for a long while they even had the sparkfun logo on them.

    20160912_200049.jpg

    With these the main problem were the chips shorting internally or low voltage output when connecting a motor. I did make a few good ones by swapping the chips on boards and they did last but in the end most of them did die which meant I had to buy some fresh meat.


    Enter the worst clones that I have used these QIFEI boards are damn right dangerous fire hazard :eek:

    20160912_195955.jpg

    Along with these orange ones with the number 1620 above the writing

    20160912_200015.jpg

    These are terrible just terrible they work fine just perfect under testing with a little RC motor but put them on the rig with proper motors and within seconds they overheat and can and will BURST INTO A FIREBALL !!!

    Luckily you do get a warning by lots of smoke first so you shouldn't really see the fire unless you carry on using them like I did just to see what happens :grin

    20160912_200427.jpg 20160912_200442.jpg 20160912_200448.jpg 20160912_200455.jpg 20160912_200505.jpg

    20160912_200538.jpg

    Now I have tried to see if there is anyway of telling what chips are crap and which are not but it just seems like a gamble.

    I have 7 of my orginal MM's still in my rig and working perfectly.

    I have blown 3 of my older good MM's by connecting some of these up as a Dual H-Bridge which in turn has blown my good MM's.

    Here are some example of the bad chips that I have had. Look at how different the text is and obviously the ST logo.

    These 2 are the worst performing chips from the 1620 boards and QIFEI boards "MYS 99 523" instant heat and smoke and fire in these little boys.
    20160912_201309.jpg
    20160912_201317.jpg


    These are all from the Sparkfun clones different chips but all had issues with internal shorting overheating from the moment you test them easy to find a problem.
    20160912_201355.jpg
    20160912_201405.jpg
    20160912_201423.jpg

    This is a picture below of one of the early ones I had which seem to be the best out of a very bad bunch.

    20160912_201522.jpg


    I think they could all work well on a small rig with limited amps but when your pushing 20-30 amps constantly with 50-60 peaks through they burn up, even with all the cooling in the world you will not stop the fire.

    Maybe we could start a record of all the chip numbers to compare and see if everyone has the same problems ?

    I don't know, just thought I would share with you all :)

    hug:
    • Like x 4
    • Informative x 3
    • Funny x 2
    • Agree x 1
    • Winner x 1
    • Friendly x 1
    • Useful x 1
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,750
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    103,530Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,604 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  4. stevemontuno

    stevemontuno Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    Messages:
    310
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    1,868Coins
    Ratings:
    +330 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Great post ,,,,Damn thats a lot of dud's,,, i've just added a couple more MM's for 60/120A peak but just waiting on some wire for my pot's that should be coming tomorrow before i can test things ,,, you got me shitting bricks now ,,,lol ,,,,,

    i'll post them up if they're dud's ,, Got my fingers crossed though.
    • Winner Winner x 1
  5. NjMotion

    NjMotion Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Messages:
    264
    Location:
    España
    Balance:
    1,667Coins
    Ratings:
    +239 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, 6DOF
    Many hours of work and headache by buying low.
    You have a lot of patience friend! :cheers
  6. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,529
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,286Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,267 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Yeah I hope they are okay, please post here if you have any issues :)

    I have read a few of posts lately with people with overheating MM's and getting blamed for bad wiring or whatever and it just isn't, its garbage chips.

    Yes I have but I would be a lot more stressed if I didn't have those 7 still working strong and moving my rig :D

    The 1620 boards I actually bought off Amazon for a change but they are all coming from china same old shit
  7. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,292
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,983Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,223 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    thats bad luck. i have 6 junk out of 26 total that i can recall. i think there where a couple more i threw away. i fried a couple with the 6 dof but never with the 2dof. the ones i fried i had rigged as dual half bridge with bad wiring(one was loose negative12v the other was pwm pin off on the mm). You have over 40 dead ones... wow you are very focused I would have quit for the bad luck. The 1620 batch was good to me I have four of them running.

    the bad ones have the chip numbers

    MYS 99 113
    MYS 99 114
    MYS 99 121
    although i have others with the same numbers that work.

    sry bout ur luck craig hope it gets better
    • Informative Informative x 1
  8. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,529
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,286Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,267 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    @bruce stephen I have blown a few by wires coming off while in dual bridge.

    I wonder what an actual real proper ST VNH2SP30 chip looks like compared to the clones.
  9. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2,017
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,764Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,913 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
  10. Alexey

    Alexey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Messages:
    455
    Occupation:
    Electronics Technician
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Balance:
    7,899Coins
    Ratings:
    +606 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Don't forget that the cheap knockoffs are so cheap because they buy chips that fail quality checks
    or chips that have not been checked at all. This would be true for most of the components you see on the board.
    Luckily I haven't had one die on me that wasn't my fault. With the amperage these sims use, it doesn't take a large error to fry one.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  11. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,529
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,286Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,267 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Thanks @RacingMat although the picture above is the wrong chip, although it does have the logo :)

    Ahhh I didn't think that is what they were using I just though it was a porly manufactured chip clone, never thought they would be pulling them out of the garbage and using them. Interesting
    • Agree Agree x 2
  12. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,292
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,983Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,223 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    @SilentChill I think you may have a bigger collection than @Pit. I know they are blown but I must say very impressive. So much time involved in your collection.

    Edit Yes I recommend direct wire and soldered. I have used a few different kinds of terminals and no real luck. Now I go with 14awg stranded wire soldered directly on the Motos.
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2016
  13. Alexey

    Alexey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Messages:
    455
    Occupation:
    Electronics Technician
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Balance:
    7,899Coins
    Ratings:
    +606 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    A chip that has failed a quality checking process isn't neccessarily a dead chip, it could be as simple as cosmetic issues.
    My money would be on purchasing a batch of chips that do not get quality checked at all or re manufactured knokoff chips.
  14. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,069
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    14,920Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,737 / 30 / -1
    Wow! If you could get all of your money back for those blown MM's I bet you could purchase one or two Sabertooths! I know they're not cheep but just saying. I suppose you would have missed out on all the fun with the MM's though. ;)
    • Agree Agree x 2
  15. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,529
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,286Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,267 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Your totally correct at an average of £6 each I have spent probably the best part of around £250 - £300 on these things. Still no where near what it would cost to buy 12 of the Sparkfun ones though.
  16. stevemontuno

    stevemontuno Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    Messages:
    310
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    1,868Coins
    Ratings:
    +330 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Has anyone ever had a failed sparkfun MonsterMoto ? or does no one buy those these days ,,lol
  17. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,529
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,286Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,267 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I don't know anyone who has bought a real one lol
    • Funny Funny x 1
  18. stevemontuno

    stevemontuno Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    Messages:
    310
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    1,868Coins
    Ratings:
    +330 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    You would think Sparkfun would at least half their price on their MM's ,, i bet their sales have plummeted to near zero since the Chinese have flooded the internet with clones.
  19. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,529
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,286Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,267 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
  20. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,069
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    14,920Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,737 / 30 / -1
    Ill say! You could purchase 3 Sabertooth 2x60's for $270 less than Sparkfun wants for 12 of their MM's. :eek:
  21. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,292
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,983Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,223 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Ha the mm's are fine... Next you'll tell me to stop using my Samsung note 7..........
    • Funny Funny x 2