1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

building 2dof seat mover for my rig

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by jimmytm3, Apr 4, 2015.

  1. jimmytm3

    jimmytm3 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    Messages:
    40
    Occupation:
    Boilermaker
    Location:
    macksville, New South Wales Australia
    Balance:
    171Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, JRK
    cant go to hard on values the psu's drop out
    • Informative Informative x 1
  2. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    17,094
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    124,106Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,720 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Can you post your JRK and SimTools settings as community members may be able to advise regarding the cause of PSU dropouts.
  3. jimmytm3

    jimmytm3 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    Messages:
    40
    Occupation:
    Boilermaker
    Location:
    macksville, New South Wales Australia
    Balance:
    171Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, JRK
    2015-05-03 13.31.21.jpg 2015-05-03 13.31.55.jpg 2015-05-03 13.32.35.jpg 2015-05-03 13.32.48.jpg 2015-05-03 13.33.01.jpg 2015-05-03 13.33.14.jpg just pushed buttons until it worked not dropping out much now only on big hits
  4. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    17,094
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    124,106Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,720 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Hey at least it works, so gotta appreciate that you got that far ;)

    @bsft has done a great guide on setting up JRKs and profiles: http://www.xsimulator.net/community...-set-up-simtools-jrks-and-write-profiles.112/

    While what you have is a good starting place do follow @bsft's guide to find PID settings for your rig.

    You can try lowering Max duty cycle a little bit.

    Set motor to Coast when off in the Motor tab.

    What errors are in the error tab?

    What are the filter setting you have made for Sway and Surge and are you aware Roll will somewhat cancel Sway, same with Pitch and Surge. Best to get Sway, Surge and Heave nailed first then try dialing in Roll and Pitch.

    What are the settings you have in the Tuning Centre?
    • Agree Agree x 1
  5. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    set each force to 20% and work with tuning centre numbers
    the idea is to keep totals under 100%, but as I explained to Simtools guys, thats not feasible as I cannot run all my forces below total 120% to get decent motion
  6. michto35

    michto35 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2014
    Messages:
    98
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    142Coins
    Ratings:
    +53 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    very good work
    • Like Like x 1
  7. jimmytm3

    jimmytm3 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    Messages:
    40
    Occupation:
    Boilermaker
    Location:
    macksville, New South Wales Australia
    Balance:
    171Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, JRK
    image.jpeg Haven't done to much lately folded up some propeller plate for computer mount and a lot of over due cable management Having a good think about including traction loss mount a pivot point up the front near pedals and mount a 50:1 gear box motor up the back just hope it will take the load anyway that's about all lol image.jpeg image.jpeg image.jpeg
    • Like Like x 6
    • Winner Winner x 1
  8. stevemontuno

    stevemontuno Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    Messages:
    315
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    1,714Coins
    Ratings:
    +333 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Looks cool mate,,, What method are you using to fold the checker plate?
  9. shannonb1

    shannonb1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,107
    Occupation:
    Sales Intelligence
    Location:
    Virginia
    Balance:
    8,908Coins
    Ratings:
    +598 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, AC motor, Arduino, JRK, 4DOF
    On a side note, good to see another flyguy with all the RC madness like myself in the sim world.
    • Like Like x 1
  10. jimmytm3

    jimmytm3 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    Messages:
    40
    Occupation:
    Boilermaker
    Location:
    macksville, New South Wales Australia
    Balance:
    171Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, JRK

    I'm a boilermaker so I have press brake to use at my leisure on the first page of my build I have some picks of fabrication but you could make a simple bender for 3mm alloy
    • Like Like x 2