1. Hundreds of coffees, endless nights of debugging and coding, and countless feedback by our beta testers led to this new major release. SimTools 2.4 is probably the version with the most upgrades and improvements in a single release ever. Look at everything Dustin has included:
    SimTools 2.4 all features.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Showroom 6DOF project using 12v DC Motors, Sabertooth 2x60's (was MM's) and Arduinos + OSW

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by SilentChill, Jun 2, 2015.

  1. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,349
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    100,933Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,424 / 41 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    See my response to your same question here: https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...ous-and-120a-peak-12v.6537/page-7#post-182020
    • Like Like x 1
  2. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    402
    Balance:
    2,603Coins
    Ratings:
    +122 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    just looking at your earlier posts.. i am still amazed by what you and all the DIYers have achieved...
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  3. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    402
    Balance:
    2,603Coins
    Ratings:
    +122 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    trying to figure out which racing seat you have, @SilentChill ...
  4. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,478
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    18,741Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,157 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
  5. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    402
    Balance:
    2,603Coins
    Ratings:
    +122 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
  6. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,478
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    18,741Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,157 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    • Funny Funny x 1
  7. ldr

    ldr New Member SimAxe Beta Tester Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Occupation:
    Telecom engineer / developer
    Location:
    Lelystad, The Netherlands
    Balance:
    94Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 6DOF
    Whoa! Looks like you had a lot of fun building and improving until the platform you have now. And what a great result! Really cool and inspiring, thanks for the effort of documenting it all :)
  8. PeterW

    PeterW alias Wickie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    Occupation:
    Dipl. Ing. Mb (FH)
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    285Coins
    Ratings:
    +57 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Hello, SilentCill,

    Today I have looked a little closer at your thread and your absolutely awesome simulator. I have the feeling that your ball screws run very smooth and silent. Do you use high-quality ballscrews? You are writing on page 25, they are from AliExpress and cost £217.02. Please don't laugh now, but I'm not sure if you mean for 1 piece or for 6 pieces ? Both would be possible! I have already held China ballscrews in my hands for about 20 Pounds/each - they were scrap. The ones in my prototype cost about 70 Pounds/each and the ones I want to use for my project cost about 170 Pounds/each.... So what was your price?

    Could you please link or name the source? Would you buy the ball screws there again? Thx
    Best regards
    Wickie
  9. adgun

    adgun Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    384
    Occupation:
    mechanic
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    4,667Coins
    Ratings:
    +86 / 3 / -0
    Hi Peter
    Can you give me a link from youre good brand ballscrews for 170pound?
    ps. Do they have oil seals?
  10. PeterW

    PeterW alias Wickie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    Occupation:
    Dipl. Ing. Mb (FH)
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    285Coins
    Ratings:
    +57 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    @adgun:
    I plan to buy the ball screws from Tuli (https://www.tuli-shop.com/)
    Namely the "Dust-proof Ball Nuts SFH (SFH 1605-3.8) and the spindle nut: SSR 1605 F C7 + end machining.

    6 pieces cost together and with the first buyer discount 1035,- € (aprox. 934 Pounds)

    regards Wickie

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  11. Sam MAHENDRA

    Sam MAHENDRA mahentheman Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Occupation:
    Electrical Engineer
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Balance:
    - 63Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Hi SilentChill. It's an impressive way to start building a DOF rig by using Sketchup. For my next 3 DOF, I am going to do the same technique for the design and testing, prior to the actual building.
  12. Sam MAHENDRA

    Sam MAHENDRA mahentheman Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Occupation:
    Electrical Engineer
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Balance:
    - 63Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Hi again. For bolting the ball joints, if you can't get the conical washers, suggest using the lock nuts with it's beveled side facing the balls, as I did for my rig (see photo). You get the locking feature of the lock nut as well it's conical face. Two birds with one stone!

    Attached Files:

  13. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    402
    Balance:
    2,603Coins
    Ratings:
    +122 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Hello @SilentChill
    may i ask about your 6 Dof?
    i just like to know the angle that you attached the actuators to your top frame..
    1481916635172-839463217.jpg
  14. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,478
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    18,741Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,157 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Around 60 degrees from what I can remember
    • Informative Informative x 1
  15. Flymen

    Flymen Flymen Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    158
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    Balance:
    1,181Coins
    Ratings:
    +110 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    @hannibal Remember , 60 degree with arm at middle position .
    • Informative Informative x 1
  16. poman

    poman Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    122
    Balance:
    127Coins
    Ratings:
    +94 / 0 / -0
    hi sir,
    Maybe you remember me, i made a rig a bit similar to yours, great work!!
    My rig went down a couple years ago and was fed-up with it because the MM's would quit on me, now with the annuncement of microsoft new flight sim, i really want to reinvest in making it work again, so went through your thread and would also like to use the sabertooth with kangoroo for my pots, you mentionned lots less wire to connect them but didnt saw the diagram and also i do you use the same arduino? sorry for asking a maybe dumb question, but maybe i missed it in your post.
    Tks
  17. poman

    poman Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    122
    Balance:
    127Coins
    Ratings:
    +94 / 0 / -0
    this is my rig, just for info.

    Attached Files:

  18. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,478
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    18,741Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,157 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi yes I do remember I think :)

    If you use kangaroos you dont need arduinos.

    I will be selling my sabertooth 2x60's in the near future and will offer them here before ebay if yiubare interested
    • Useful Useful x 1
  19. BondeX

    BondeX Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    142
    Occupation:
    EE
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Balance:
    1,436Coins
    Ratings:
    +60 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Any particular reason why you are selling your 2x60's? I was just considering getting them. Thanks
  20. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,478
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    18,741Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,157 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I've started a new thread as I'm building a new one using brushless motors.