1. Hundreds of coffees, endless nights of debugging and coding, and countless feedback by our beta testers led to this new major release. SimTools 2.4 is probably the version with the most upgrades and improvements in a single release ever. Look at everything Dustin has included:
    SimTools 2.4 all features.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Showroom 6DOF project using 12v DC Motors, Sabertooth 2x60's (was MM's) and Arduinos + OSW

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by SilentChill, Jun 2, 2015.

  1. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,478
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    18,741Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,157 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Yeah still going strong not had to fix anything on it for nearly a year now and it has had some hammer :)
    • Winner Winner x 3
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Peacemaker105

    Peacemaker105 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2017
    Messages:
    31
    Location:
    Perth, Aus
    Balance:
    310Coins
    Ratings:
    +40 / 0 / -0
    Hey man. I'm loving that v-wheel carrier for stopping the shaft from spinning. I'm using a Teflon guide at the moment which works fine but there's still a 1-2mm play. Don't suppose your keen on sharing the STL file by any chance? ;)
  3. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,995
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,207Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,003 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    mate, all is up and running? When I finish my hardware upgrades I want to install the Thanos board as well. Looks quite good the new firmware
  4. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,478
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    18,741Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,157 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    My ali extrusion is smaller so I doubt it would fit
  5. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,478
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    18,741Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,157 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Mine has been in it's box since I failed to Get it to work . I'm not going to use it again any time soon it's all too much to change all the wiring round and everything.
  6. Peacemaker105

    Peacemaker105 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2017
    Messages:
    31
    Location:
    Perth, Aus
    Balance:
    310Coins
    Ratings:
    +40 / 0 / -0
    ahh ok, spewin. Thanks anyway.
  7. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,478
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    18,741Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,157 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Been a while I must update a bit more with some videos which I can now properly make as I will have the power to do it

    [​IMG]

    Cheers everyone and a Happy New Year !!
    • Like Like x 10
    • Winner Winner x 1
  8. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    651
    Occupation:
    3D Technical Director
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    5,403Coins
    Ratings:
    +650 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    You should have gone for the I9 9900k! That how I loose all my money. I can't settle down for common sense. Great stuff.

    RTX... Whoaw!
    • Like Like x 3
  9. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,478
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    18,741Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,157 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I know it was £90 more for the 9900k I'm kinda kicking myself now, but hey ho it will do :)
  10. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    581
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    6,821Coins
    Ratings:
    +757 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Mate doing things by half measure aint in your vocabulary LOL nice upgrade er make that freaking nice upgrade ...if this new system don't get u what you need , sell it to Nasa cos that gonna be some Number crunching power ya got there ... happy new year back attcha kiddo your starting as you mean to go on LOL
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  11. sandman7793

    sandman7793 New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Occupation:
    IT Professional
    Location:
    Naples, Florida
    Balance:
    1Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Nice build thread. Read all the pages and felt your growing pains as I went. Glad it's all worked out for you. I've bought a stationary sim, and didn't even know there was a DIY community for motion sims. Guess I'll have to build one now to go with my rift. Lol.
  12. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,478
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    18,741Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,157 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Don't think just do it, there is nothing better than a little bit of motion.
    • Agree Agree x 4
    • Like Like x 3
  13. FrankXX

    FrankXX New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Balance:
    6Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, AC motor, SCN5, SCN6, Arduino, JRK
    Your wonderful work gives me good experience.And this is a very practical solution for a compact space.
    • Like Like x 1
  14. Tim McGuire

    Tim McGuire "Forever a work in progress"

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2015
    Messages:
    257
    Occupation:
    Electrical/Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    1,928Coins
    Ratings:
    +300 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor
    Exactly the case with my sim. It was a pipe dream until I bought the motors on a whim one day, and the rest just sort of happened.
    • Like Like x 1
  15. jeep213

    jeep213 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    中国
    Balance:
    83Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    I always wanted to be a simulator for flying and racing. I have been here for several months. I have seen many successful examples of my predecessors. I feel that although 6DOF is invested more, the structure is relatively simple, and the success rate is higher. I want to do it. 6DOF, don't know if the idea is right? ! (This is translation software)
    • Like Like x 1
  16. Archie

    Archie Eternal tinkerer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,083
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW, AU
    Balance:
    3,682Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,369 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Coming on here and re-reading stuff always leads me to Ebay....

    :p:p:grin:grin
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Funny Funny x 1
  17. jeep213

    jeep213 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    中国
    Balance:
    83Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    Very constructive production, is the two fans above simulating wind speed? And as the speed of the car increases, can you simulate a crosswind? Great idea!
  18. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,478
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    18,741Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,157 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Just wind that is taken from the speed value in game no cross wind
  19. Lin166

    Lin166 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Balance:
    59Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi SilentChill,
    Fantastic work. I have a quick question why every motor was driven by two MMs. For enough current and power? Could you pls share the tech specs of the gear motor Transtecno? Thx.
  20. ilbiga

    ilbiga Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Messages:
    223
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    294Coins
    Ratings:
    +131 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino