1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Showroom 6DOF project using 12v DC Motors, Sabertooth 2x60's (was MM's) and Arduinos + OSW

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by SilentChill, Jun 2, 2015.

  1. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,117
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    16,850Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,841 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hello everyone,

    Today I start my second motion sim after my first very successful 3DOF sim.

    I have made a little sketch, which took 3 weeks as I didn't know how to use sketchup but im getting there and at least I have something to show you all.



    I will be using my current motors off my rig which have not had any problems over the past 9 months. I think I will be trying a 13cm CTC lever (15cm overall) if that is too long I will shorten it down.

    Some of the parts I have already to get me going,

    A few MM's keep me going 20150602_195040.jpg
    Powered USB Hub

    20150602_195215.jpg
    12 x Ball Joints

    20150602_195805.jpg
    6 x Flexible Shaft Couplers

    20150602_195633.jpg
    6 x 360 Hall Effect Pots

    20150602_195256.jpg
    6 of these bad boys

    20150602_200102.jpg
    6 x 670w PSU's eeeeek

    20150602_195517.jpg 20150602_195529.jpg
    5 x Arduino Uno clones which I have not had any issues with so far.

    20150602_195142.jpg
    I will be soon making my base which will be out of wood and the platform also will be out of wood, might sound crap and cheap but for weight reasons I'm gonna try and see what happens.

    I will be using my G27 Steering Wheel , Pedals and Shifter and also my Saitek x52 HOTAS. There will be no screens as I will be using my Oculus Rift DK2.

    Think I may just reuse the seat I have as it has the Transducers under it or I may splash out on a new lighter one, and connect the transducers straight to the platform.

    I am still trying to do this as cheap as possible but hopefully it wont look as ugly as my first rig :)

    Thats all for the moment and I will be back soon .
    • Like Like x 25
    • Winner Winner x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
  2. Leo Burton

    Leo Burton Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    162
    Location:
    London, UK
    Balance:
    2,483Coins
    Ratings:
    +124 / 1 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Amazing. Love your 3 dof rig. Can't wait to see this thing running!

    Looking forward to seeing its progression. Good luck!
    • Like Like x 3
  3. Wanegain

    Wanegain Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    544
    Location:
    Bruxelles
    Balance:
    1,239Coins
    Ratings:
    +269 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Very nice project ! I will follow it !!
    Can you please give the link of where you buy your motors ?

    I really love your videos with sketchup moving with Simtools, is that hard and do you need a special version ? Very amazing...
    For me I think that with a 6 dof sway and surge are useless...

    2 questions :
    Why buying 360° pot or hall effect if you will mount them with no reduction ? You can buy directly 180°, it will be more precise.

    Why 6 power supply and 5 Ards ?? You can easily use one of this power supply for 3 motors at least, and instead of bying 5 Uno, 1 Mega would be enough (even a chinese copy)...
    • Like Like x 2
  4. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    11,642
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    90,628Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,632 / 37 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    • Informative Informative x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  5. tougemonster

    tougemonster Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2015
    Messages:
    37
    Occupation:
    Systems Integrator
    Location:
    Brisbane Australia
    Balance:
    334Coins
    Ratings:
    +48 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Are you going to be mounting the DK2 tracking camera to the platform?
    • Like Like x 1
  6. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,117
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    16,850Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,841 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    @Wanegain the motors I am using will still trip those psu's out if I put the power up to full in scn with a single motor on each.
    Sway and surge are there and as good as any surge table that you may have seen.

    www.transtecno.com are the motors manufacturer

    The angle of the camera does not show how much it actually moves in that video.
    I am using Ards because that's what I know how to use the same with the POTS it's just what I used before so I will use them again. 3 Ards for the motors and 1 for my fans and then u have a few more to do what I want with .

    @noorbeast I using the latest 2015 version of sketchup I just had to suss out how to get it working with simtools which I can tell you was not that easy to start off with.
    • Like Like x 3
    • Informative Informative x 2
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2015
  7. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    11,642
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    90,628Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,632 / 37 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Good to know 2015 works @SilentChill, I was not aware of that and have always used Version 8.

    What part did you find difficult to get Sketchup going with SimTools. Does the guide need updating in any way or do you have any tips and tricks to add while it is fresh in your mind?
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2015
  8. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,117
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    16,850Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,841 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    @tougemonster yes the camera will be mounted above the fans somewhere.

    @noorbeast the socket.rb file which you create needs to go into the ruby folder inside the sketchup main install folder.

    You don't need to move the socket.so file either and just use the one that is already installed.
    • Like Like x 4
    • Informative Informative x 3
    • Useful Useful x 1
  9. momoclic

    momoclic Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Messages:
    206
    Occupation:
    Retraité
    Location:
    Nantes - France
    Balance:
    2,611Coins
    Ratings:
    +107 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino
    Wonderful project, bravo!
    Could you please tell me what tool Sketchup you realized the animation. Thank you.

    Magnifique projet, bravo !
    Pourriez-vous s'il vous plait m'indiquer avec quel outil de Sketchup vous avez réalisé l'animation. Merci.
    • Like Like x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
  10. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    11,642
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    90,628Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,632 / 37 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
  11. Paul Shortland

    Paul Shortland Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2015
    Messages:
    90
    Location:
    Northampton - UK
    Balance:
    156Coins
    Ratings:
    +47 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Serious build going on here :grin

    Looking forward to the updates!
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  12. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,001
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    25,131Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,335 / 20 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Nice, those motors must be pulling some power (hopefully not too much) and the price was right:thumbs. Seems like you have everything ready to go. Look forward to seeing a working video in the near future.
    • Like Like x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
  13. telfel

    telfel Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    171
    Balance:
    4,725Coins
    Ratings:
    +117 / 3 / -0
    Hi @SilentChill
    would it be possible to let me have a copy of your sketch up drawing files and any files used for the motion,
    I just want to experiment with the layout, especially the top moving platform using 3 mounting points.

    regards Terry
    • Like Like x 1
  14. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,117
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    16,850Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,841 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    It's started :D

    I have myself , well ermmmm a hexagon lol

    1433363534379-1144879466.jpg
    • Like Like x 8
  15. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,117
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    16,850Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,841 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    @telfel to be honest you would be better off just doing it from scratch as it's not easy to just move things around . The amount of moving and reconnecting you would have to do it would take longer .

    The files you need are all in the tutorial and FAQ section
    • Informative Informative x 1
  16. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,117
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    16,850Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,841 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Not much progress but nearly finished the Base 20150604_211351.jpg
    • Like Like x 4
  17. Leo Burton

    Leo Burton Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    162
    Location:
    London, UK
    Balance:
    2,483Coins
    Ratings:
    +124 / 1 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Loving it! Have you seen this guys rig? Similar in size and design with yours.



    I am 'well jel'! ;)

    I wonder if the motors I've used could be used for this sort of rig. Smolka 24vs?
    • Like Like x 2
  18. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,117
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    16,850Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,841 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    @Leo Burton yes I have seen that video :) I have no idea if my motor s will work yet Im just hoping they will. Im afraid I cant give advise on your motors.
  19. Wanegain

    Wanegain Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    544
    Location:
    Bruxelles
    Balance:
    1,239Coins
    Ratings:
    +269 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hi @Leo Burton, @zigzag49 is building a 6 dof using same motors than yours. You can follow the thread here.
    These motors are not as powerful as those of @SilentChill is obvious but it can work well if it meets all the theory calculated by @momoclic (very good and interesting work).
    FYI, I am building a 4 dof with such engines. I will share all my work here when it will be done :thumbs
  20. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,117
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    16,850Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,841 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Oooo new parcel arrived :)

    14334929105401842099712.jpg 1433493123354-991860872.jpg

    Only weighs 6.7kg so should help a little.
    • Like Like x 4