1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Showroom 6DOF Build (Ard, MM)

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by BondeX, Mar 10, 2016.

  1. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,292
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,975Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,222 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    if you need stuff welded you can bring it by. just IM or text me.
    • Friendly Friendly x 3
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,779
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    19,116Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,486 / 29 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    If those are simple 5-6" L brackets from Homedepot or your local reno store, I can almost guarantee those will bend over time. I can bend a 6" L bracket in a vice with my hands....i would HIGHLY suggest you beef up those brackets.
  3. BondeX

    BondeX Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    142
    Occupation:
    EE
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Balance:
    1,437Coins
    Ratings:
    +61 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    @Nick Moxley, while these brackets are quite sturdy, I do think you have a point there. Can you suggest how I can fortify them?
    Last edited: May 17, 2016
  4. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,041
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    14,882Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,706 / 30 / -1
    Imo, with your current setup the easiest way would be to fit some wood blocks between the backs of the motors and the L brackets at the back. Then get some large hose clamps and wrap them around the motors and brackets to clamp the blocks in place and support the back end of the motors too.
    • Agree Agree x 1
    Last edited: May 18, 2016
  5. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,928
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,223Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,851 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    or maybe it's no use...
    what's the problem to be in a "low" position at start or stop?
    none in my opinion: easier to seat, no mechanical stop which could be broken if activate at a wrong moment :)
    • Agree Agree x 1
  6. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,292
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,975Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,222 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    also a mechanical stop will become a problem if the motor gets away from you. Simple things can cause a motor to take off. Any loose pot connection amongst other reasons. my 2dof rests at about 180 degrees and shoots to about 90 when powered up.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  7. BondeX

    BondeX Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    142
    Occupation:
    EE
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Balance:
    1,437Coins
    Ratings:
    +61 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    @BlazinH, thats what I had in mind. Will draw it up.

    @RacingMat, @bruce stephen, i dont understand simtools all that well, thats why i was thinking of mechanical stops. Do the motors hold position under load when the sim is fired? Or is it only when a game is running?
  8. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,292
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,975Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,222 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    as soon as you power up the ards and monsters. without simtools or smc3 utils running.
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  9. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,779
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    19,116Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,486 / 29 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Triangles are your friend. A welded on bracket to turn the L brackets into Triangles would help immensely.
    • Like Like x 1
  10. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,041
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    14,882Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,706 / 30 / -1
  11. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,292
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,975Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,222 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    yes a gusset would help but i still dont think that will be enough. the motors are 13lbs by themselves. it will oscillate at the least.
  12. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,779
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    19,116Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,486 / 29 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK


    Your the guy doin the welding....figure it out.....lol:cheers
    • Funny Funny x 2
  13. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,779
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    19,116Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,486 / 29 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    @BlazinH ;)


  14. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,292
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,975Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,222 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
  15. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,041
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    14,882Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,706 / 30 / -1
    Yes, I saw that too! But while it is friendly offer, who likes to take something to someone else to do it for them when they don't have too? Also, just because they both live in Michigan doesn't necessarily mean they live close to each other.

    The facts are that although you wouldn't want to support motors by the motors only, he just needs to stabilize them a little bit. So 6 wood blocks and $12 worth of hose clamps will take care of the problem in short order without all the hassle. ;)
    • Agree Agree x 1
  16. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,292
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,975Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,222 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Thanks @BlazinH. he does live very close. 10 minutes. We've talked on the phone also. So it's not impossible. But I also understand doing it yourself. Try the wood if that doesn't work gimme a shout.
    • Friendly Friendly x 2
  17. poman

    poman Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    122
    Balance:
    117Coins
    Ratings:
    +94 / 0 / -0
    maybe use a torque seal paint to see if they moved, like in aeronautics, and do a walk around before playing, like if it was a plane lol!! that is what i though of doing at first to see how it behaved.
  18. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,779
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    19,116Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,486 / 29 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK


    Motor's would need to be "loaded" with a driver to see anything really.
    • Agree Agree x 3
  19. BondeX

    BondeX Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    142
    Occupation:
    EE
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Balance:
    1,437Coins
    Ratings:
    +61 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Ok, so finally got all the electronics done and tested each MM & PS with SMC3. Mounting rods are done and feel very sturdy, just need to apply loctite on the nuts and ball joints. Platform is very sturdy and has no play whatsoever.

    Need to solder 4 Hall sensors and I should be ready to test motion.

    Attached Files:

    • 12.jpg
      12.jpg
      File size:
      409.3 KB
      Views:
      308
    • 13.jpg
      13.jpg
      File size:
      296.4 KB
      Views:
      314
    • 18.jpg
      18.jpg
      File size:
      296.5 KB
      Views:
      322
    • 14.jpg
      14.jpg
      File size:
      272.9 KB
      Views:
      327
    • 15.jpg
      15.jpg
      File size:
      482.7 KB
      Views:
      355
    • 16.jpg
      16.jpg
      File size:
      407.2 KB
      Views:
      354
    • 17.jpg
      17.jpg
      File size:
      451.1 KB
      Views:
      355
    • 20.jpg
      20.jpg
      File size:
      338.1 KB
      Views:
      351
    • 19.jpg
      19.jpg
      File size:
      320.9 KB
      Views:
      351
    • 2.jpg
      2.jpg
      File size:
      199.9 KB
      Views:
      341
    • 6.jpg
      6.jpg
      File size:
      312.6 KB
      Views:
      344
    • 5.jpg
      5.jpg
      File size:
      237.7 KB
      Views:
      351
    • 7.jpg
      7.jpg
      File size:
      254.9 KB
      Views:
      331
    • 8.jpg
      8.jpg
      File size:
      277 KB
      Views:
      353
    • 9.jpg
      9.jpg
      File size:
      258.8 KB
      Views:
      331
    • 10.jpg
      10.jpg
      File size:
      229.8 KB
      Views:
      354
    • 11.jpg
      11.jpg
      File size:
      178.8 KB
      Views:
      339
    • 2.jpg
      2.jpg
      File size:
      199.9 KB
      Views:
      329
    • 3.jpg
      3.jpg
      File size:
      281.3 KB
      Views:
      357
    • 4.jpg
      4.jpg
      File size:
      305.6 KB
      Views:
      303
    • Like Like x 9
  20. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,285
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    26,778Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,580 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Another 6DOF is born:thumbs. I hope testing goes well.
    • Agree Agree x 2