1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Showroom 6DOF Build (Ard, MM)

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by BondeX, Mar 10, 2016.

  1. BondeX

    BondeX Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    142
    Occupation:
    EE
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Balance:
    1,437Coins
    Ratings:
    +61 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Thanks @SeatTime, i hope so too.

    Need to read up on axis assignment and defining DOFs :(
  2. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,486
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    18,825Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,168 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    We need videos !!! :D
    • Optimistic Optimistic x 1
  3. BondeX

    BondeX Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    142
    Occupation:
    EE
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Balance:
    1,437Coins
    Ratings:
    +61 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    • Like Like x 2
  4. GR88

    GR88 Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2016
    Messages:
    33
    Occupation:
    M.E Student
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    580Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    Your control box looks amazing. I hope I can get mine that neat when the time comes. Can't wait to see the progress!
    • Like Like x 1
  5. BondeX

    BondeX Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    142
    Occupation:
    EE
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Balance:
    1,437Coins
    Ratings:
    +61 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Thanks @GR88, Its nothing compared to what I have seen on this forum. I feel my setup is pretty basic.

    I am trying to figure out how to assign AXIS. I am looking at @vulbas's assignment and I am wondering how did he come up with these values and why are some different for lets say Roll, for Axis 1 & 2. Is his assignment a good starting point? Axis 1 = Motor 1, Axis 2 = Motor 2......?

    [​IMG][​IMG]
  6. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,285
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    26,778Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,580 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Good start point, but unfortunately it will be similar, but slightly different for every Stewart Platform sim. Can depend on how the axis's are numbered, direction of motion for each motor, which end you call the 'front' of the sim and also the geometry of the sim, as we are not using 6DOF maths - (which is why different % are also used to adjust for non linear movement) Note you will not get sway and surge perfect, but in reality it does not really matter. From looking at his setup Axis 1/2 are at the back and 3/4 and 5/6 are left/right.
    • Informative Informative x 3
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2016
  7. BondeX

    BondeX Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    142
    Occupation:
    EE
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Balance:
    1,437Coins
    Ratings:
    +61 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Well since my sim is an hour away, I needed a way to understand how SimTools Axis assignment and Interface worked. I built a mini replica of my 6DOF and used two Arduinos/Interfaces.



    On the actual sim do I need to have Startup Output and Shutdown Output populated?

    Attached Files:

    • 1.jpg
      1.jpg
      File size:
      369.7 KB
      Views:
      307
    • 2.jpg
      2.jpg
      File size:
      369.5 KB
      Views:
      312
  8. paulg100

    paulg100 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    94
    Location:
    Bristol UK
    Balance:
    1,231Coins
    Ratings:
    +87 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    just started playing around with simtools on my 6dof, my layout is the same as your replica. i used the above dof assignments from vulbas as a starting point and everything worked pretty much spot on straight away, which was a nice suprise!

    as seattime said some of the movements are not completely flat ( we need to wait for simtools 2 and math plugin for this??) but its pretty much there.
    • Like Like x 1
  9. BondeX

    BondeX Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    142
    Occupation:
    EE
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Balance:
    1,437Coins
    Ratings:
    +61 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Alright, so I finally tested motion and so far so good. Just debating whether I should mount my Obutto Ozone on top of the platform.



    • Like Like x 6
  10. momoclic

    momoclic Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Messages:
    214
    Occupation:
    Retraité
    Location:
    Nantes - France
    Balance:
    2,636Coins
    Ratings:
    +111 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino
    Promising results in game ... Super!
  11. BondeX

    BondeX Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    142
    Occupation:
    EE
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Balance:
    1,437Coins
    Ratings:
    +61 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Thanks, I really hope so :)
  12. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,872
    Occupation:
    Teacher/Cabinet Maker
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    9,549Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,755 / 12 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Done yet? Huh?

    How about now?

    Huh?

    Huh?

    Done?

    No?

    :grin
  13. BondeX

    BondeX Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    142
    Occupation:
    EE
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Balance:
    1,437Coins
    Ratings:
    +61 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Ah so this is how you are going to pressurize me :)
    • Like Like x 1
  14. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,872
    Occupation:
    Teacher/Cabinet Maker
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    9,549Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,755 / 12 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I want you to blow up with inspiration! :grin
  15. BondeX

    BondeX Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    142
    Occupation:
    EE
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Balance:
    1,437Coins
    Ratings:
    +61 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    How do you know I have not alrready ;)
  16. alexdraco

    alexdraco Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2018
    Messages:
    62
    Balance:
    391Coins
    Ratings:
    +31 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Great job
    • Like Like x 1