1. Hundreds of coffees, endless nights of debugging and coding, and countless feedback by our beta testers led to this new major release. SimTools 2.4 is probably the version with the most upgrades and improvements in a single release ever. Look at everything Dustin has included:
    SimTools 2.4 all features.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Showroom 5 Axis Motion Rig With TL Using PT Actuators On A Simetik K2 Cockpit

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by DotComRich, Mar 7, 2019.

  1. DotComRich

    DotComRich Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2018
    Messages:
    39
    Balance:
    286Coins
    Ratings:
    +30 / 1 / -0
    PT Actuators from: http://www.pt-actuator.com/proshow.asp?strID=156

    Traction loss platform built from cedar 2x4s, with castor wheels bearing the weight and a 7" lazy susan as the pivot point. This uses a 150mm stroke actuator which provides roughly 8" of travel on both sides which feels very very nice drifting :) However I don't know how long this cedar will hold up as I had already have many loud creeks and cracks during intense crashes which I guess you could argue just adds to the immersion haha. I do plan to build a T-shaped platform out of aluminum extrusion eventually for more rigidity as well as to lower the overall height.

    I obviously still need to do some more cable management, especially up front where its just puking cables out.

    I put a few castors under the front as well to help bear the weight

    IMG_2229.JPG

    IMG_2230.JPG

    8 castors hold the back

    IMG_2235.JPG

    Finally got the cockpit on top, this was no easy task by myself!

    IMG_2233.JPG

    Actuators all wired up for testing

    IMG_2240.JPG

    The power transformer Shao from pt-actuators sent me as I am on 110v here in Canada
    IMG_2289.JPG


    Forgot to take pics of every step, but here I finally got all 4 actuators attached. I used 40/80 black anodized aluminum extrusion, drilled some holes in my Simetik K2 and mounted with brackets. I then attached another smaller piece vertically which is what the actuators are attached to.

    IMG_2266.JPG

    IMG_2287.JPG


    IMG_2289.JPG

    Still no cable management as I was still in testing phase

    IMG_2267.JPG

    I had these dumbells to hold the platform still as I hadn't hooked up the traction loss actuator yet.

    IMG_2268.JPG

    After a lot of trial and error and brainstorming on how to connect this damn TL, this is what I came up with. This is still something I want to improve on for when I switch to an aluminum extrusion TL platform as the bolts I used to run through the tie rod ends were a bit too small diameter, plus I had to hack up one of the aluminum extrusion brackets to run the bolt through. So it just doesn't sit 100% tight/flush and has a tiny bit of play.

    IMG_2288.JPG

    Clark Synthesis TST239 mounted under CSP v3 pedals

    IMG_2290.JPG

    Another Clarky mounted to a piece of hardwood which is then mounted to my seat. The hardwood really helps you feel the vibration crisp and clean. I have engine rpms tuned in simvibe unbelievably well with this setup. There is also a buttkicker under there attached to the cockpit frame running in chasis mode.

    IMG_2291.JPG

    Here is one of my first races in PC2 with BMW Procar. Sorry for the clarity on the TV I don't know why I decided to run a race in heavy fog for this :S. You can't really see but yes I am in VR here. I will get a better video up showing actual recorded in game footage with a picture n picture of the cockpit movement.

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 10
    • Winner Winner x 4
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2019
  2. DotComRich

    DotComRich Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2018
    Messages:
    39
    Balance:
    286Coins
    Ratings:
    +30 / 1 / -0
    Update:

    So I've now put a good 50+ hours of driving time in this rig, zero problems mechanically thus far. The wood is holding up better than I thought. There is some minor flex and looseness but once you're in a race you really don't notice. The actuators have not skipped a beat and I have had zero troubleshooting issues with them once they were setup aside from dialing in settings for each game. They're 150mm stroke but I am actually only using about 115mm or so as its just a bit to crazy for my cedar platform. I will go full 150mm when I build my full 80/40 platform hehe.

    Right now I am only playing PC2 and Dirt Rally, and man on man is Hamelahti stage on Finland absolutely insane in this thing. You are legit scared to crash, and the jumps just feel incredible, what an experience words can't describe. Every little bump is picked up and you can really feel the car just skipping over the road at high speeds, throw in some perfect drifted cornering with the TL and there is nothing more satisfying.
    • Like Like x 2
  3. Joeri

    Joeri Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2019
    Messages:
    62
    Occupation:
    car body repair shop
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Balance:
    298Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Nice platform. Looks realy good.
  4. MillerTime

    MillerTime New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Balance:
    22Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    About how much were the actuators? could not see a price on their site.
  5. DotComRich

    DotComRich Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2018
    Messages:
    39
    Balance:
    286Coins
    Ratings:
    +30 / 1 / -0
    $5500usd with shipping from China to Canada.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  6. MillerTime

    MillerTime New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Balance:
    22Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Appreciate it sir!
  7. hogig

    hogig New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Balance:
    33Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hi dotcomrich,

    You have a very very very awesome setup, hopefully you don't mind that I am interested in reproducing your 5 axis rig...so after researching a bit - it should consist of:

    PT actuators PT16
    MDbox from PT
    Thanos interface box
    Simtools

    Anything I am missing as I am noob...

    Re the 5th axis... (which TL actuator?) I am wondering if you have based the TL part of rig from somewhere so I can custom order the relevant sizes in aluminum extrusion? Can PT actuators have a semi built TL rig with aluminum extrusions delivered? Just wondering as I am based in HK delivery charges aren't that high from China...

    I have a very similar setup to you at the moment, a rig + AF v2 + Rift, eager for a motion system that doesn't kill my wallet.
  8. hogig

    hogig New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Balance:
    33Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  9. DotComRich

    DotComRich Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2018
    Messages:
    39
    Balance:
    286Coins
    Ratings:
    +30 / 1 / -0
    Email the guy from pt-actuators, look to talk to Shao on skype who is who I dealt with, good guy. I asked for a 150mm stroke actuator for the TL as I wanted lots of flexibility with it, just talk to him and he will set you up with everything you need.

    As for dimensions of my wooden platform, I don't have anything on paper I just built it from some numbers in my head based on how big the Simekit K2 cockpit I have is and the footprint it was going to have with the actuators attached.

    I too plan to switch to an aluminum extrusion TL base once this wood starts giving out but its still holding up surprisingly well. My plan is to build a T-shaped bottom, then a rectangular base that rolls on top and then my cockpit will sit on top of all that.

    That traction loss design thanos posted is indeed very interesting, but depending on price and of course shipping costs I would lean towards building my own still.
    • Like Like x 1
  10. hogig

    hogig New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Balance:
    33Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  11. llluis

    llluis Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2017
    Messages:
    126
    Location:
    Quebec
    Balance:
    1,520Coins
    Ratings:
    +95 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
  12. Neil Clayton

    Neil Clayton New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Balance:
    74Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    Very nice!

    I'm in the process of researching sims, having seen my brothers (SFX100).
    The SFX units however produce a painful (to me) 10khz whine. Do you get any noise from the drivers or actuators you've used?
  13. DotComRich

    DotComRich Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2018
    Messages:
    39
    Balance:
    286Coins
    Ratings:
    +30 / 1 / -0
    Unfortunately yes, it seems like it is inevitable that they will all have this whine, those that don't just don't hear it from old age.

    If my rig is sitting idle and there is no other sound, I can pick it up and it does irritate me a bit but once there is some sound and the motion of the rig moving it goes virtually unheard. Also, I have had quite a few people in and around my rig of all different ages and not one has ever asked about the whine so clearly its not that bad.
  14. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,153
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    100,065Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,339 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I know @shannonb1 is sensitive to that sort of whine, so you are not alone in it bothering you.
  15. Neil Clayton

    Neil Clayton New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Balance:
    74Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    For me it's painful enough that if the whine were the same, I would hold off building. I know that I just couldn't bring myself to use it. I wish there were some way to (even if it costs $$$$) to up the PWM/control freq, so that it was out of my hearing range. I know that means lots of more expensive components (possibly) and cooling, etc etc... but for me, it's a question of having a rig or not having a rig, so I'd consider other driver options.

    Actually; another thought: As long as the actuators themselves produce no whine, I'd be happy to relocate the driver box 50m away in my garage. That'd work too!
  16. adgun

    adgun Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    372
    Occupation:
    mechanic
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    4,587Coins
    Ratings:
    +82 / 3 / -0
    With a Ampflow e30-400 motor and a Sabertooth there is no noice.
    You get D Box forces and 4 times there speed @ peak eff. with a 1605 screw
    You can make it slower and stronger by ussing a 1604 ballscrew
    And you only need to make a motorplate to fit motor and fsx100 actuator together.
    just my two cents
    regards Ad
    sorry for the bad english
  17. Neil Clayton

    Neil Clayton New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Balance:
    74Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    If I understand correctly, you're suggesting making up SFX100 like actuators, just using DC motors?
  18. adgun

    adgun Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    372
    Occupation:
    mechanic
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    4,587Coins
    Ratings:
    +82 / 3 / -0
    Yes jou dont need to do mush, the controller is often used and the Ampflow E30-150 works well with a 6dof
    there E30-400 should work with a Dbox style sim
  19. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    446
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    3,113Coins
    Ratings:
    +392 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Joyrider, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    For the price of the ampflow DC motor + Sabertooth + PSU (or batteries), you could get the AASD15A servos instead (perhaps for less) and have real power and accuracy... just saying...

  20. Neil Clayton

    Neil Clayton New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Balance:
    74Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    The issue I have though is that I know that system, for me, produces an amount of noise that I cannot deal with. Both the driver and the servos produce enough noise to make me nauseous over a very short time window. Thus even if I could isolate the driver, those servos themselves would still be a deal breaker for me.

    As a newbie I have a question: Probably already answered here 1000 times: If the DC motor has comparable speed, and comparable (or more) torque, why would AC be 'better'? I'm asking this in the context of a dbox style, 4 actuator setup...

    Re above, a note: I hope people don't mind the apparent and likely repeat of above Q. I am finding it hard to find answers to questions, without reading what seems to be every post. I'm not trying to criticise; just saying that there's so much information here; it's hard for newbies like me to find & sort out relevant info with reading hundreds+ threads.