1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

4DOF help

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by Joel Pospisil, Apr 29, 2015.

  1. Joel Pospisil

    Joel Pospisil New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Balance:
    213Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    4DOF
    Hello
    I finished my simulator 4 dof simulador. I installed an Arduino UNO and need help with SIMTOOL setting.

    Also I am looking for a Van or a Car software Simulator where I where it might be possible to add images or modify the appearance of cars advertisings.


    Greetings!

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 3
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,196
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,570Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,269 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Hi @Joel Pospisil ...
    Wow Nice design you have ... :thumbs
    first this post is about your simulator and it should be in the
    DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ section ...
    And for better assisting you please answer these questions ...

    How the AC motors are connected to the Arduino ?
    What is the software F/W loaded to the Arduino ?

    For more information about SimTools settings and Games please read the FAQ section .
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2015
  4. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,928
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,225Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,851 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hi @Joel Pospisil!

    what a beast you have built!! :eek:
    we want more pics!!! and specs!

    about Simtools please read the quick start step by step guide (link in my signature): this should help
    • Agree Agree x 3
  5. Joel Pospisil

    Joel Pospisil New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Balance:
    213Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    4DOF
    We are using a H Bridge by our design. It is working fine.
    The AC motors consume max 20 Amp.
    • Informative Informative x 2
  6. Joel Pospisil

    Joel Pospisil New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Balance:
    213Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    4DOF
    Thanks!
    I will post more pics soon! greetings from Argentina!
    • Like Like x 4
  7. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,196
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,570Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,269 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Great @Joel Pospisil ...
    20A is a good round figure for 4 motors total consumption ...
    But, What H-bridge for AC ? Aren't you using VFD's ?

    take your time reading and if you need any help just ask ... greetings To all in Argentina !
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2015
  8. joe extraknow

    joe extraknow Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2017
    Messages:
    103
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    1,412Coins
    Ratings:
    +37 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
  9. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,478
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    101,762Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,478 / 41 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    The SimTools Axis Assignment settings are completely configurable, in other words you can assign any axis/force to individual actuators, and SimTools can even have and mix on the fly multiple assignments of forces/axis to each individual actuator.
  10. joe extraknow

    joe extraknow Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2017
    Messages:
    103
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    1,412Coins
    Ratings:
    +37 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    This is unsymmetrical, unlike the Stewart platforms though.

    Say, if I have fly yaw movement only input given at a moment of time, how can the rig do yaw only without pitching?
    SimTool needs to calculate exactly how much rear actuators movement vs front actuators’ movement so that it will do the yaw and keep to level. I don’t think the native SimTool SW will work.

    Had some one already made a plug-in for 4x 4DOF case?
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2019
  11. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,478
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    101,762Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,478 / 41 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    As I said SimTools can mix axis assignments on the fly, so it will automatically calculate the yaw input from the game and just execute that, but in circumstances of both yaw and pitch inputs it will mix movement for both at the same time, when multiple axis/forces are assigned to actuators.

    Have a play with the most basic example on the 2dof Virtual Simulator: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/testing-simtools-without-a-simulator.171/

    And use surge, sway, heave, roll and pitch, follow the tips to refine a motion profile: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/steps-to-create-a-motion-profile.228/
  12. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,289
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    26,813Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,582 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I and many others use to run simtools with 6DOF stewart platform rigs without any special math plug-ins for quite some time. You just need to build your rig to suit - Ie. equal length actuators, lower the roll center etc. You can make any shaped rig work with a bit of thought.
  13. joe extraknow

    joe extraknow Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2017
    Messages:
    103
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    1,412Coins
    Ratings:
    +37 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    I understand that works for Stewart 6DoF or toplogic-Stewart n drivers for nDoF cases.
    After thought over again, but for this 4 drivers 4DoF case, I could not figure out how is mathematically possible.
    If I fly my plane with yaw in 10 degrees, how could such configuration lead to yaw 10 degree without heaving or pitching?

    I think I am going to give up this idea. Thanks anyhow.
  14. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,041
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    14,882Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,706 / 30 / -1
    Looks like its a 3dof + 1 for yaw or TL to me (top photo). The 4th motor would rotate the other three actuators.
  15. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,289
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    26,813Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,582 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    From the design in the example video - not all DOF movements would be physically possible. But it was a compromise that they were happy to go with for the type of vehicles that they were going to simulate.