1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Showroom 2DOF seatmover by insanegr

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by insanegr, Jun 21, 2015.

  1. insanegr

    insanegr !N$@n€

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    503
    Location:
    Athens
    Balance:
    16,459Coins
    Ratings:
    +481 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hi all

    Few time ago i had a ride with a commercial motion Sim.Can say that I was amazed with how i felt but had a hard landing when i heard the price.

    I thought that there should be a way to make one (DIY),so I goggled how to make one on my own and found this forum with amazing members who are willing to help in everything.

    When i first joined this community i was a total noob and almost everything was a new information for me.Months later learned many things reading and still had to learn quite more.

    While i was still reading and had to decide with what kind of Sim i was gonna build, how much i would spend(PC Steering wheel pedals motion rig) and what resources i could find to do it, i decided to make something small first move.

    my first attempt with simtools thanks to @eaorobbie who shared his code was with a scaled model


    Because I never had a static Sim and had to start from somewhere i decided to build a low cost 2dof seat mover shoulder mount with wiper motors, Arduino, motomonster and with @RufusDufus SMC3 Arduino 3DOF Motor Driver and Windows Utilities so i can get into the spirit of racing simulation and motion too.


    And the project begins:


    motors mounts:

    3mm steel needs some reinforcement to be stiff

    IMG_0186.JPG



    CTC levels:

    5mm steel and CTC is 50mm

    IMG_0185.JPG



    Motors rods:

    steering rods bought from scrap yard cut and welded on a 10mm threaded rod

    IMG_0187.JPG



    Motors :

    Magneti Marelli from scrap yard. Didn't need ground isolation but needs to be checked
    IMG_0193.JPG



    Bottom frame:

    30x30x2,5mm tube steel

    IMG_0247.JPG



    Upper frame:

    25x25x2,5mm tube steel seat mount
    30x30x2,5mm tube steel base so wheel mount can go through

    IMG_0249.JPG



    Pedals mount:

    25x25x2,5mm tube steel adjustable forth and back

    IMG_0250.JPG

    10x10x0,3mm tube steel adjustable in angle

    IMG_0256.JPG



    wheel mount:

    30x30x2,5mm tube steel adjustable forth and back on the pedal mount
    25x25x2,5mm tube steel steering wheel can be adjustable up and forth

    IMG_0251.JPG



    Frame assembled:

    IMG_0252.JPG


    Power supply:

    HP DPS-600PB
    How to Modify a Server Power Supply for 12v

    DPS-600PB.jpg




    Motor control box:

    arduino uno R3 original
    monster moto shield for arduino
    fuse box holder

    IMG_0321.JPG



    POT mount:

    IMG_0123.JPG

    STL files for downloading



    and finally all above together:

    IMG_0322.JPG IMG_0323.JPG IMG_0325.JPG

    Although i have finished it haven't ride it a lot but for the few rides i have had when a profile was tuned a bit it feels really good.

    Have a lot of questions in mind but want to have few more rides so i can ask.

    Really wanna thank @ALL members who contribute here so people like me can build a sim.
    sorry for my english guys:)
    • Like Like x 3
    • Winner Winner x 3
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2017
  2. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    11,214
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    87,835Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,421 / 35 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Great job @insanegr :thumbs

    I wish my wiring was half as neat as yours.

    I will be looking forward to following your build and followup questions.

    At some stage please do shoot and post a video of your simulator in action.
  3. André Vasconcelos

    André Vasconcelos Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2014
    Messages:
    44
    Occupation:
    Engenharia mec.
    Location:
    Barretos, Sao Paulo
    Balance:
    - 64Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, AC motor, Arduino, SimforceGT
  4. insanegr

    insanegr !N$@n€

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    503
    Location:
    Athens
    Balance:
    16,459Coins
    Ratings:
    +481 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    thanks @noorbeast
    here is a video. needs more tweaking , playing , patient and some beers:cheers.



    Just got a new(second hand) pc running bought AC ,ETS2 , waiting Pcars to be downloaded and need to config them all again and hope the right way.
    everything is new to me from games to motion.
    as i said when i joined this community i was a noob:nerd.
    • Like Like x 5
  5. André Vasconcelos

    André Vasconcelos Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2014
    Messages:
    44
    Occupation:
    Engenharia mec.
    Location:
    Barretos, Sao Paulo
    Balance:
    - 64Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, AC motor, Arduino, SimforceGT
    It looks good!
  6. insanegr

    insanegr !N$@n€

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    503
    Location:
    Athens
    Balance:
    16,459Coins
    Ratings:
    +481 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    had some spare time yesterday and spent some time playing and tweaking on my sim.
    SMC3 really rocks.Managed to monitor my motion while playing with SMC utility through UDP.
    Could monitor my motion on local PC and on a LAN PC. The difference between local and LAN is when i track my motion on a local pc i can see the target, feedback and PWM line and on LAN i can see only the target line. @RufusDufus I am mentioning this because of these post's

    here are some screenshots with my settings
    pCars:
    SMC3 pcars nords m1.png SMC3 pcars nords m2.png




    AC:

    SMC3 AC motor1.png SMC3 AC motor2.png



    @Pit @RufusDufus your advise would be appreciated.
    i can see some lag in my motion on the graphs but don't think i can do nothing for it with the motors i am using.
    with these settings i played around 2 hours and then i remembered to check what was going on with temps.
    MM was cool enough but motors were really hot. measured them 10min later and they where 50C. it was the first time i spent so much time on the sim playing and previous tests was with P=500 and PWMmin=0. cooling fans on motors must be done shortly.
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2015
  7. André Vasconcelos

    André Vasconcelos Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2014
    Messages:
    44
    Occupation:
    Engenharia mec.
    Location:
    Barretos, Sao Paulo
    Balance:
    - 64Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, AC motor, Arduino, SimforceGT
    I'm also trying SMC3
  8. insanegr

    insanegr !N$@n€

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    503
    Location:
    Athens
    Balance:
    16,459Coins
    Ratings:
    +481 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    not a big update but had some time playing and tuning my profiles, steering wheel and adding a dash.
    IMG_1012.JPG


    dashboard is controlled with AChub app from here (ACHub is modular and almost totally customisable dashboard system for AC, IRacing, ProjectCars, Codemasters games (Dirt 2,Dirt 3, Dirt Rally, F1 20XX) and Euro Truck Simulator dashboard).
    its a easy build and with variety of components-settings and the best thing is that most of us already have them.
    and some action:grin

    • Like Like x 2
  9. Hobbs77

    Hobbs77 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    143
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    Balance:
    682Coins
    Ratings:
    +63 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5
    Nice rig and a job well done! And that larger monitor in the last video must make a big difference too!
  10. insanegr

    insanegr !N$@n€

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    503
    Location:
    Athens
    Balance:
    16,459Coins
    Ratings:
    +481 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    thanks @Hobbs77 and sure yes a bigger monitor is really better than a smaller one.
    now i am between triple screens and VR but i am waiting for the consumer version of VR's and see how they work and what pc performance would they need to work and then probably get one when i update my pc
  11. Hobbs77

    Hobbs77 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    143
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    Balance:
    682Coins
    Ratings:
    +63 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5
    I'm in the waiting mode myself. I've been using a 37'' for the last 5 yrs and thought many times about getting triple 28'' or 32'' monitors. But decided I'd wait it out for retail VR first. Hope our wait isn't too much longer!
  12. insanegr

    insanegr !N$@n€

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    503
    Location:
    Athens
    Balance:
    16,459Coins
    Ratings:
    +481 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    long time posting here. almost forgotten i had a build thread:p. thanks to SimTools 2 i digged it out.

    some time ago i replaced my old cermet pots will hall ones. then i redone my motion profiles and boom.it felt like i was driving another rig and then Simtools 2 came out and boom felt a second upgrade with my rig. motion now feels really great.
    i want to thank all beta testers and devs for making SimTools 2hug:

    here some pics of how i have mounted my new hall pots to my wiper motor.
    3d printer is my new friend... after my sim:D

    IMG_0107.JPG IMG_0108.JPG IMG_0116.JPG
    IMG_0119.JPG IMG_0120.JPG IMG_0121.JPG

    IMG_0122.JPG IMG_0123.JPG
    IMG_0134.JPG IMG_0106.JPG
    • Like Like x 2
    • Creative Creative x 1
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2017
  13. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,717
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    20,419Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,425 / 29 / -3
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Looks like your Bridging had a bit of a hard time there on the inside of your Motor adapter. have you played much with Dense support layers ? They REALLY help get you details on that first layer when bridging. Also your Extrusion multiplier looks to a touch low, and I would suggest upping your Infill outline overlap to something around 25% or even a tick higher.

    If you want, be sure to post those parts in the 3d printed parts section. :cheers
  14. insanegr

    insanegr !N$@n€

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    503
    Location:
    Athens
    Balance:
    16,459Coins
    Ratings:
    +481 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    thanks for your inputs @Nick Moxley:thumbs i know i have to spend more time tweaking the 3d printing profiles.
    damn everything has profiles and all need tweaking from simtools to wheel , 3d printer an so goes on.....:D
    do you mind sharing a profile from your printer so i can compare them with mine.we dont have the same printer but i guess i can see whats wrong with my settings. i have seen your printings and they are perfect

    going to post it in 3d section with the STL files too
  15. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,717
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    20,419Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,425 / 29 / -3
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK

    You can download the default .fff i use in Simplified3d right from Pursa....Joseph updates it from time to time.

    http://shop.prusa3d.com/forum/download/file.php?id=2896&sid=4e1b3561f3489b485265dcf2fcc3002b
  16. insanegr

    insanegr !N$@n€

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    503
    Location:
    Athens
    Balance:
    16,459Coins
    Ratings:
    +481 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    @Nick Moxley have downloaded the specific profile from prusa but haven't used my printer since then to check out :oops:.
    at least i κnow the results from this profile with your printings:grin
  17. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,717
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    20,419Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,425 / 29 / -3
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK

    Ya Ive tweaked the base profile further, and im sure you dont want 30 different profiles for the unique parts im printing, so the default is a Great baseline to work from. Any question's dont hesitate to ask. :cheers
    • Like Like x 1
  18. Javo5

    Javo5 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    132
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Balance:
    19Coins
    Ratings:
    +38 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
  19. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    11,214
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    87,835Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,421 / 35 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Yes Hall sensors can be a direct replacement for ceramic pots and have the benefit of not being damaged if over rotated.

    I have not used the one you linked but it should work, personally I use these Hall sensors: https://au.element14.com/bi-technol...fs/sensor-hall-0-2v-20v-to-10v-pin/dp/2319662
  20. Javo5

    Javo5 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    132
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Balance:
    19Coins
    Ratings:
    +38 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Thanks!!! I Will buy ones:thumbs