1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

2DOF DIY Racing Rig

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by MichelF, Mar 24, 2015.

  1. MichelF

    MichelF New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Grenoble, France
    Balance:
    139Coins
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    After 2 years of improving my racing rig from very simple to more and more functionality, i decided some weeks ago to make a dynamic one.
    I had the chance to get in touch with Erwan960 on the PCars Forum who provide me some parts and give me some advice. So most of the hardware components, the motors, the reducers, the Pololu Jrks, the potentiometers and the joint are coming from him.

    I had just to do the mechanical parts,

    First I put some pictures from the history to show the evolution :

    in 2014, I installed a triple display and I was using a G25.

    upload_2015-3-24_13-59-10.png
    upload_2015-3-24_14-3-21.png

    I could also use i for flight simulator

    upload_2015-3-24_14-4-30.png

    then I update in November with a Fanatec wheel and a new seat.

    upload_2015-3-24_14-5-30.png
    and I added a fourth screen for the Motec

    upload_2015-3-24_14-6-31.png

    I have reworked the structure, made a fixed part to support the monitors and the sound system, moved the pedals, wheel and seat on the mobile platform. I tried to keep a high level of finition with the surface or hiding the cables and electronic stuffs.
    I have also add a bass-shaker under the moving platform
    All support are made of wood (covered with decal)
    I share the actual result even if some details are still on tuning : keyboard support, additional support for the joystick for flight simulator, some screws missing, etc...
    20150323_073431.jpg
    20150323_073529.jpg
    20150323_073605.jpg

    First tests are impressive even if some tuning is still needed with the help of Erwan960.

    More pictures to come
    • Like Like x 5
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,928
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,225Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,851 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    very good looking! Nice job :)

    How do you setup the 4th screen? I tried a USB 3.0 to VGA adaptor without success...

    images.jpeg
  4. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,482
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    101,790Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,478 / 41 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Nice job @MichelF, thanks for sharing all the photos and details of your motion simulator, it looks great.

    When you get the chance can you please add a video of your rig in action, I an other members would really enjoy that.

    Have fun tweaking the settings.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  5. MichelF

    MichelF New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Grenoble, France
    Balance:
    139Coins
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I used the 4 possible displays on the graphic cards : The triple screens are using the 2x Duallink DVI and the Display port. The fourth screen is on the HDMI
  6. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,779
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    19,116Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,486 / 29 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK

    Why didn't this work ? I didn't have a problem with mine (except the fact if you add ANY extra length to the adapter on the USB side, You'll be forced to run in a lower resolution 800x600 most likely.) IF you want to extend it do it on the VGA side, USB wires are Far too small to carry the needed current to the monitor and supposedly these devices are very much effected by the signal strength.
  7. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,928
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,225Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,851 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    thanks @MichelF

    @Nick Moxley : thanks for the trick! I have no length adapter but I'll check if it's on my motherboard or through the hub or if the power supply is on!

    my USB VGA adapter was seen by WIN7 as FL2000DX is Fresco Logic's USB 3.0 Display device controller
    so I downloaded the driver here http://www.frescologic.com/products_show.php?ms=3
    but nothing happended after driver installation... :(
  8. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,779
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    19,116Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,486 / 29 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Imo the device was sketchy at best, Also i Did notice some rolling lines on my 2nd screen and was overall happy to ditch the adapter when i build a specific PC for my rig. They work, but if you do some research other's have issues with them as well. Thank god there dirt cheap, I paid 10$ for mine, so Not a huge loss.
  9. Scratch

    Scratch Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2014
    Messages:
    171
    Balance:
    206Coins
    Ratings:
    +181 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Very nice rig Michel! So tidy and clean.

    About screens, if you have two PCIe slots on your mobo, other option to add fourth (and third) screen is to add cheap GPU as a secondary display adapter. With SoftTH you can run games with all four of them, or use three for games and one for other data. Displays can all be different sizes, and no displayport is needed on any of them. This is very low cost way for multiple screens!
    • Informative Informative x 3
    • Useful Useful x 1
  10. MichelF

    MichelF New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Grenoble, France
    Balance:
    139Coins
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    As promised, please find hereafter a first video of my rig
    I discovered Elite Dangerous these last days, so I made a video based on this game.
    Originally designed for car racing, I will upload a video of Project cars in some days.

    • Like Like x 1
  11. MichelF

    MichelF New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Grenoble, France
    Balance:
    139Coins
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    With a little delay, find the second video with Project Cars

    • Like Like x 2