1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

2 DOF Motion Simulator // AC motor with VFD // Almost done

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by foppaul, Sep 28, 2017.

  1. foppaul

    foppaul New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2017
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    Nederland
    Balance:
    44Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Sneak preview of the last post:

    [​IMG]

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    A few weeks ago I started to build a Simulator. It's just a trial so I dont want to spend to much. That is why is started a thread here so I could try the software for free. I will keep updating this thread. If anyone has any questions I will try to help, but my English isn't very well.


    Paul

    2 dof 4.jpg

    2 dof 3.jpg

    2 dof 2.jpg

    2dof 1.jpg
    • Like Like x 5
    • Winner Winner x 1
    Last edited: May 14, 2018
  2. Limongi

    Limongi Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2017
    Messages:
    66
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    Balance:
    500Coins
    Ratings:
    +56 / 0 / -0
    That's a very nice bit of aluminum fabrication, you must have a great combination of low weight and stiffness. Did you weigh the upper frame ?
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    10,997
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    86,652Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,290 / 35 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Nice work, I will look forward to following your updates.

    There is an eligibility criteria for a free license, which includes length of membership and progressing your build thread: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/request-a-free-diy-simtools-2-0-license.262/

    That looks to be a CV joint used for the pivot, if it allows lateral rotation then you will need to add a panhard style rod between the top and bottom frame to prevent torsional twist

    With wiper motors you need to ensure they are ground isolated: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/wiper-motor-mandatory-ground-isolation.25/
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Paddy1970

    Paddy1970 New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Durham
    Balance:
    220Coins
    Ratings:
    +29 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Some fantastic fabrication skills on display there, very nice work.
    • Agree Agree x 4
    • Like Like x 1
  5. foppaul

    foppaul New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2017
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    Nederland
    Balance:
    44Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    @Limongi No sorry I didn't weigh the frame. But i need to take it appart before painting so I will weigh it then.

    @noorbeast Homokinetic joint don't allow lateral rotations so I should be fine. Thanks for the advise!

    Yesterday I mounted the pots and finished up the wiring. Should be ready to test the motion in a few days. Just hoping the motor's are strong enough. I used the point of mass for my cv joint, but when the seat turn forward the point of mass moves so the motors have to come up with a lot of force.

    I will post some photo's later.
  6. creazyrider

    creazyrider Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2017
    Messages:
    79
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    538Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    The upper frame looks very nice ! Did you weld it with a TIG ?
    Why did you double the bottom frame ? to limit torsion ?
    Nice work.
    • Like Like x 1
  7. mariano68

    mariano68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    556
    Occupation:
    builder contractor
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    3,632Coins
    Ratings:
    +366 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, 4DOF
    Your upper frame looks great! Superb craftmanship
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Lgars39

    Lgars39 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2015
    Messages:
    67
    Location:
    Jura
    Balance:
    60Coins
    Ratings:
    +32 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Really very nice work of welding!
    • Like Like x 1
  9. foppaul

    foppaul New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2017
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    Nederland
    Balance:
    44Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Thanks guys!

    @creazyrider I've seen some simulators who lift their own feet while moving the seat from left te right. To prevent this I decided to make the frame stiff. Another plus side is that I can use the space between the square tubing frames to mount all the electronics.
  10. foppaul

    foppaul New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2017
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    Nederland
    Balance:
    44Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Quick update, mounted the pots to test the system.

    [​IMG]
  11. mariano68

    mariano68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    556
    Occupation:
    builder contractor
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    3,632Coins
    Ratings:
    +366 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, 4DOF
    I got the same connectors yesterday, for 7 contacts each.
  12. foppaul

    foppaul New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2017
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    Nederland
    Balance:
    44Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I've also got some connectors with 8 pins (4 pins on the ones used in the picture). But I decided to use a different connector for each component. This makes is easier to changes some parts easily when necessary (update or a broken part).
  13. foppaul

    foppaul New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2017
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    Nederland
    Balance:
    44Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hi Guys,

    Just a short update, i'm in the middle of my school exams so unfortunately I won't be making any progrogress soon. Just recieved the diy license, thanks a lot!! And started figuring it out. Also mounted everything on the simulator and started testing with just Arduino software and codelines to make the motors move to check the connections and polarity. Thinking about buys two more montiors when everything works haha. I'll post some pictures of the testing later.

    [​IMG]
    • Like Like x 5
  14. Limongi

    Limongi Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2017
    Messages:
    66
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    Balance:
    500Coins
    Ratings:
    +56 / 0 / -0
    Looks so good, I'm excited to see the results in motion. Aluminum really takes it up a notch in aesthetics. I assume by position you're going for an open wheel feel?
    • Agree Agree x 1
  15. foppaul

    foppaul New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2017
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    Nederland
    Balance:
    44Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    @Limongi Yes, that is correct!

    Just 3D printed some parts. Those prints are for a RGB RPM bar. The larger bar is used to mount the 8-bit ledbars and the smaller box is used to protect an Arduino Nano. I need to brush the plexiglass to make it a bit more blurred as an experiment. If it doesn't look good I will cut a clear one.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    • Like Like x 4
  16. Muscled_Dog

    Muscled_Dog New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    100Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    Whoahh! Really cool! Congratz!
    • Like Like x 1
  17. SBDESIGN

    SBDESIGN some knowledge

    Joined:
    May 25, 2016
    Messages:
    52
    Occupation:
    director
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    - 7Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5
    looking good!
    good job!
    • Like Like x 1
  18. foppaul

    foppaul New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2017
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    Nederland
    Balance:
    44Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Connected the circuits, installed the software and this is the result:



    I used Simhub to sent a signal to the Arduino Nano
    • Like Like x 3
  19. foppaul

    foppaul New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2017
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    Nederland
    Balance:
    44Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    First some pictures:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Finished the build a few days ago and started testing the setup. But i've runned into some issues... when i connect the arduino to my notebook and send some lines of code by the arduino serial monitor the seat starts to move. So I was really happy. I've connected everything right haha. But, i can't figure out how to setup simtools. I've used all available guides and it just won't move.

    When I start the simulation by starting to test outputs the motors turn to their home point (the middle). But when I move those bars with roll and pitch, nothing happens.

    Can anyone help me with this problem? I'll provide every sreenshot needed, but I can't right now because i'm posting this from school haha.

    Thanks a lot, Paul.
    • Like Like x 1
  20. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    10,997
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    86,652Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,290 / 35 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Hard to take anything but a stab in the dark, as you have not said what code you are running. If it is SMC3 then the Interface Settings for SimTools 2 should be like this:

    [A<Axis1a>][B<Axis2a>]

    Set for 10bit binary output

    Baud rate 500000 , N , 8 , 1 (10ms delay)