1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

2 DOF lounger for DCS

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by TWB, Dec 21, 2020.

  1. Dan Aitcheson

    Dan Aitcheson Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2017
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Balance:
    72Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    Awesome! Simple is best sometimes, and in VR things don't need to be pretty, that's for sure.

    Having a mill and lathe makes some things so much easier, I bet. So jealous right now!
    • Like Like x 1
  2. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,234
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    118,307Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,443 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Link definitely needs high end USB-C, I got it working via my Nvidia 2080, Link would not work with the onboard USB-C.

    But to be honest I use VirtualDesktop over my Asus mesh wireless network rather than Link these days.
  3. Sam Neall

    Sam Neall Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2019
    Messages:
    55
    Balance:
    22Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I got a party link cable on Amazon. Is this not a “high-end cable“? What cable did you opt for that worked for you? Even though I’m on a very high bandwith USBC 3.2 Gen 1 port, the oculus app tells me that I should “use a USB3 port”. I guess if the cable isn’t good enough, it could bottleneck the whole thing. I’m trying to get virtual desktop to work as well. However it has the same issue even with all the Wi-Fi troubleshooting done. I have a high bandwidth in virtual desktop as well and get the same stuttering as I do in link.
  4. Sam Neall

    Sam Neall Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2019
    Messages:
    55
    Balance:
    22Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    The cable they shipped it with is supposed to work for link. It’s just very short so it is only good for testing link while sitting down. I confirmed this with oculus support and they said that if the original cable isn’t working with link, then there is an issue with the headset. I have been on this for a couple months now and have had no progress but the work should pay off soon. I got a new laptop with a 2060 specifically for VR so it sucks I haven’t been able to work anything out. Stand-alone play is amazing though I like being untethered to the PC.
  5. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,234
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    118,307Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,443 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I was not talking about the cable, but rather the USB C port, the one on the motberboard would not work with Link, I had to use the one on my graphics card.
  6. Sam Neall

    Sam Neall Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2019
    Messages:
    55
    Balance:
    22Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Oh ok good to know. Thanks.
  7. TWB

    TWB Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    Balance:
    300Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    On the first quest I was able to use the USB c on the GPU and front of the PC via a PCi (maybe) and it was only good for data I believe so the video requirement for usb-C I dont believe was a requirement. It just needed to be SS with the lightening bolt. However, I do remember the PC software of oculus and the headset software had to be on the same version and of course different versions would be rolled out at different times which prevented the link from working. And also I had to set oculus to a beta version in the PC settings for the link to work and the beta version had different software of course. Needless to say it was a pain in the ass, but worked great when running.
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2020
  8. Sam Neall

    Sam Neall Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2019
    Messages:
    55
    Balance:
    22Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I’ll check the software version and enable beta and see if that fixes it.
  9. TWB

    TWB Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    Balance:
    300Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Caution to all. If you hear a hissing or squealing sound from a motor with no movement be sure to cut power immediately. I had an intermittent feedback circuit open wire at a terminal block which caused a motor to have full power on a pole and smoked the stator winding for that pole. There was no feedback to allow the motor to move. The motor should have just peeged at max speed in one direction but did not. I found this out 2 motors later. Tripple check wiring security/ snugness.
  10. TWB

    TWB Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    Balance:
    300Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I have been fighting a port motor failure issue. I replaced with new. The driver. The POT. The motor. I verified all wiring. I used a meter and verified the driver output is the same comparitive reading for both side. I am now placing bets on the wiper motors being too cheap. I purchased the cheapest ones off amazon. It is time for a slight upgrade and one that can handle the current. I was debating on utilizing PWM outputs for motor 2 and 3 vise 1 and 2. Eliminate the PWM 1 all together. New motors to arrive.

    I find it odd that I have a motion platform in equilibrium but one motor gets way hotter than the other. This signifies to me either a driver was bad(replaced) the motor is crap(replaced) or the PWM is set too high all the time? Anyhow the upgrade from the 4 AMP capability of the wiper motor to the 14 AMP of the go-cart. e-bike motor should help tremendously.

    I am not even having the sim move that much. Maybe a couple degrees or so in roll and upwards of 3-5 in pitch (maybe 5). Then again I did get an arduino uno clone (crappy PWM)? saving a couple bucks on cheap electronics might have costed more on the back end.
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2021
  11. TWB

    TWB Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    Balance:
    300Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    BestEquip 2 pcs Brushed Motors,12V 150W Electric Go Kart DC Motor,Speed 2500RPM 14.3A Electric Scooter Motor Kit with Wrench and Screw Set for Mini Bike DIY

    Search criteria at amazon to the new motors to arrive. I am going to use the existing wiper motor worm gear reduction assy.
  12. TWB

    TWB Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    Balance:
    300Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Making some motor adapters for the new motors. 0104211016_HDR.jpg 0104211132_HDR.jpg 0104211241_HDR.jpg 0104211254_HDR.jpg 0104211450_HDR.jpg
    • Winner Winner x 1
  13. TWB

    TWB Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    Balance:
    300Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Motor mounts and couplers complete. Ready for testing 0106210908_HDR.jpg 0106210818_HDR.jpg 0106211038_HDR.jpg 0106210912_HDR.jpg 0106211354_HDR.jpg 0106211050_HDR.jpg
  14. TWB

    TWB Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    Balance:
    300Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I installed the new motors. They seem fine. They stay cool to the touch. I lowered PWMmax to 185 and PWMrev the same. Kp is set to 300. I still feel ground effects fine. Just requires some more fine tuning, but I'm liking what I see so far.
    • Like Like x 2
  15. TWB

    TWB Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    Balance:
    300Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I removed sway this morning. I had it so light that it didnt matter much and prevented good roll effects when needed. I find that the YAW makes up for turning off sway in DCS. I am left with PITCH, ROLL, YAW, SURGE and HEAVE (for weight on wheels ground effect only) I am really happy at this point it just feels right. Now I meed to put nautical mileage on her.